F-Keys don't work and sound problems

Pro Member Trainee
MU_24 Trainee

Ok guys, it's my first time posting and I looked everywhere in the forums to make sure I wasn't asking questions that have already been answered. So, if they're out there, my sincerest apologies for missing it and making the typical newbie mistake. 😂 2 questions:

1) My f-keys don't work, period. Actually they never worked in FS9 either now that I think about it. I have a Microsoft keyboard that has no problems other than that; f-keys work fine with other programs. Any suggestions, because I'm perplexed.

2) These two sound problems really bug me. First, more than 50% of the time that ATC talks to me all I hear is static. Second, when I switch views from the exterior view back to the cockpit on most of the jets there is a static sound that only goes away if the views are cycled clear around again. This is very annoying when I'm on final and want to see how good I look. 😉

Your expertise is appreciated gentlemen.

Answers 7 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Download and print out the keyboard commands.

https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/1333/fsx-controls-keyboard-commands/

If your using a laptop (I don't think you are) then you have to refer to the manual, laptop "F" keys are mapped different with each manufacturer.
If it's a desk top, I don't now, never heard of that.
Press F12 and see what happens while your flying, F11 will get you out of it if it works.

The sound can be a number of things.
FSX hasn't been out that long that we have a support fact section in MS to use so try FS9 fixes.

Good bet.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/812394/en-us?spid=11941&sid=global

Last
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/177252

Good luck and let us know how you do.

Radar

Pro Member Trainee
JG3Bulldog Trainee

I have exactly the same issue with the sound, EXACTLY. Very annoying. Tried updating sound card and other drivers but no fix...HELP....