Help with Graphics card

Pro Member First Officer
D5Tweddle First Officer

I currently have a ATI Radeon X800 series (VX912-3) graphics card, and I would like to upgrade to a better one so my FSX can run hopefully quicker (I am only getting about 17-18 FPS at the moment).

I am not very technical when it comes to PC's, I know 2 years ago my PC was custom built from work. I know I have 228gb of hard drive (if that means anything) and in system information is says for 'total virtual memory' 2gb.

I have heard that I might need more hard drive? to run FSX quicker?

My PC also runs on Windows XP Pro

Look forward to any advice!

Answers 18 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Bob (Traches) First Officer

The graphics card has a huge impact on your framerates, but it's not the only factor. Bring up your run command (Start->Run) and type 'dxdiag'.

Under the system tab, Can ya please Let us know the system manufacturer, Processor, and memory? And under display, let us know the name and approx. total memory on the card.

I'm an nvidia guy myself, so someone else will have to give ya advice on which gfx card ya want 🙂

Also, Tweaking your settings goes a long way. Some things will slow down your computer more than others... FSX is a game of compromise; Pretty vs. playable 😞

Pro Member First Officer
D5Tweddle First Officer

Thanks for that, the details are as follow:

System manufacturer: Eveshamvale
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40Ghz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 1022MB RAM

Display:-

Name: RADEON X800 series
Approx. Total memory: 256.0MB

I hope this helps and I look forward to any responses!

Pro Member Chief Captain
Tailhook Chief Captain

D5Tweddle wrote:

I have heard that I might need more hard drive? to run FSX quicker?

The size / capacity of your HDD has nothing to do with how fast you can run FSX. Your CPU and GPU however will make a difference.

Pro Member First Officer
D5Tweddle First Officer

so....what do I do now?

Pro Member First Officer