Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

How to install aircraft in FSX

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
   
Author Message
randomme
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 01, 2010
Posts: 3
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 7:31 am 

I tried that but it didn't seem to work.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:26 pm 

Read the install instructions again and try them step by step.
They may not be the best but they should guide you.

Don't forget the read-me that came with the download.

Radar

Back to top
randomme
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 01, 2010
Posts: 3
Posted: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:32 am 

Thank you very much for the advise. I ended up looking at how the other folders were set out and copying them, it now works perfectly. Very Happy
Back to top
JacobGee
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 30, 2010
Posts: 1
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:35 am 

I Cant find SimObjects to add a plane?????
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:41 pm 

JacobGee wrote:
I Cant find SimObjects to add a plane?????



C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\SimObjects\Airplanes

Radar

Back to top
sweetcakes
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 30, 2010
Posts: 1
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:16 am 

My son has just got connected to fly away and we downloaded red arrows but can't get it into Micro FX we have read the hits but it was still to didn't clear anything up.All we can do is take the computer to PC world or get an engineer to come to the house. thanks for the disapointment.

sweetcakes
Back to top
DavidSkylark
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: May 30, 2004
Posts: 1
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 2:59 am 

All of the planes that I am downloading as of late seem to be white skin with just patched of it that show color. Anyone else having the same problem and if so do you know a fix?
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 3:05 am 

DavidSkylark wrote:
All of the planes that I am downloading as of late seem to be white skin with just patched of it that show color. Anyone else having the same problem and if so do you know a fix?



Go into the Sims menu, go to the graphics tab and uncheck the DX10 box.

Radar

Back to top
HarryNostrant
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 15, 2010
Posts: 10
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:30 pm 

What if you can't find where to put the dowload? I have two dowloads on a flash drive but can't find where to out them. Help please?
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:53 pm 

HarryNostrant wrote:
What if you can't find where to put the dowload? I have two dowloads on a flash drive but can't find where to out them. Help please?


If I understand you, put them on your desktop and unzip them there.

Radar

Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:55 am 

HarryNostrant wrote:
What if you can't find where to put the dowload? I have two dowloads on a flash drive but can't find where to out them. Help please?


It doesn't matter where you have your 'downloads'. You can even leave them on your flash drive. The important thing is that you have to extract the contents of the .zip files ('downloads') FIRST by right-clicking on a .zip file and following the Wizard.

Then you copy and paste the individual parts where they belong using Windows Explorer.
Back to top
Jaybird21285
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 28, 2010
Posts: 1
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:04 pm 

Hello, i am using the Addit Pro thing to install aircraft on my hd, i came across a couple of aircraft that say the panel.cfg need to be installed also and addit doesnt give it a file directory, where should it go?
Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:59 pm 

Jaybird21285 wrote:
Hello, i am using the Addit Pro thing to install aircraft on my hd, i came across a couple of aircraft that say the panel.cfg need to be installed also and addit doesnt give it a file directory, where should it go?


Just place the panel.cfg files into the appropriate panel folders, that's where they belong.
Back to top
bigernie3754
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 28, 2010
Posts: 1
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:02 am 

i have tried and tried and this is becoming bs, i tried to follow the instructions but i right click and there is no option to send to other files, and if i put in the C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\

it say unknown,
Back to top
chelseafc222
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Dec 28, 2010
Posts: 4
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:08 pm 

I had trouble at first but I did this:
Download the file(s) to your desktop (just makes them easier to find).
Start button -
Computer -
OS (C:) -
Program Files -
Microsoft Games -
Microsoft Flight Sim X -
Sim Objects -
Airplanes (should be a list of all the default planes).
Right click on the file on your desktop then 'copy' -
On the airplanes page click 'file' then 'paste' -
Start up Flight Sim X and you're ready to fly. :)
Note: Some downloads have additional files in eg. 'Read Me's' and screensavers just open the file on your desktop then copy the file with the aircraft's name or what it was saved as.
Back to top
texasthunder
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Dec 30, 2010
Posts: 1
Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:16 pm 

All good info, and I appreciate those trying to help us novices !! Smile
Back to top
chelseafc222
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Dec 28, 2010
Posts: 4
Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:00 pm 

Can anybody give me a tutorial on how to install any of Thomas Ruth's A340s, I follow the step by step instructions that come with it, the wings are fine, the fuselage is completely black. Help? Sad Question
Back to top
Sunday
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 25, 2011
Posts: 1
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:40 am 

Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad this is soooo confusing!!!!
Back to top
dtdb
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 14, 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Massachusetts
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:41 am 

Did you try reading this tutorial.
http://fstipsandaddons.com/tutorials/installing_aircraft.html
fstipsandaddons.com
Back to top
SALTHEMECHANIC
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 21, 2011
Posts: 1
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:12 am 

hi, i can down load some airplanes ,when i do down load the airplanes and install them to fsx i dont have paint job on them,need help how i can install the paint on them thanks sal
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:02 am 

SALTHEMECHANIC wrote:
hi, i can down load some airplanes ,when i do down load the airplanes and install them to fsx i dont have paint job on them,need help how i can install the paint on them thanks sal


Go into the Sims graphics tab and uncheck the box DX10, then they will have textures.

Radar

Back to top
gum
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 25, 2011
Posts: 1
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:46 am 

iv folod evreetheng it seas but i stil cannot get it to werk im triying to donlod the voyager for flit simlator x but i cant get it to werk cood yo tel me wat too doo : Sad Question
Back to top
Mooty
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 19, 2009
Posts: 1
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:23 pm 

sam12345-2009 wrote:
Ive managed to download and install different aircraft but im having big problems changing the config file.

Every time I edit it and then go to save i get an error message stating...
"Cannot create the C:..blah blah... file. Make sure the path and file name are correct".

It happens both if i click save or save as.
Anyone had the same problem???


If you disable User Account in your control panel you'll find it works perfect. Flying Dutchman.
Back to top
Rick771128
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 16, 2011
Posts: 2
Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:38 pm 

OK I have followed all instructions here and I still cant see my downloaded planes in FS!!!!!! I dont know what else to do Im about to jump off a bridge at this time!!!!! LOL Please help. Thanks
Back to top
chaos1524
Guest





Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:51 pm 

every time I try to copy the aircraft folder, I get this message"Cannot create or replace"FileName": Access is denied. Make sure the disk is not full or write protected and that the file is not in use."
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:07 pm 

chaos1524 wrote:
every time I try to copy the aircraft folder, I get this message"Cannot create or replace"FileName": Access is denied. Make sure the disk is not full or write protected and that the file is not in use."



Read this and see if it helps.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/298345

Radar

Back to top
erickeiser
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 29, 2011
Posts: 1
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:59 am 

every texture file i download never works. I copy and paste the files correctly into FSX program files yet when i open up the game there is nothing there. the only downloads that work are the package one's..... If it comes to having to add a texture in it's going to be a no go. for example: I downloaded a repaint for my crj700, copied and pasted the texture into the crj file and then edited the .cfg file and when it's done i open up the game and all i have is the stupid orbit air crj...... the sight of that stupid plane makes me want to throw up. please help.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:07 am 

erickeiser wrote:
every texture file i download never works. I copy and paste the files correctly into FSX program files yet when i open up the game there is nothing there. the only downloads that work are the package one's..... If it comes to having to add a texture in it's going to be a no go. for example: I downloaded a repaint for my crj700, copied and pasted the texture into the crj file and then edited the .cfg file and when it's done i open up the game and all i have is the stupid orbit air crj...... the sight of that stupid plane makes me want to throw up. please help.



Go into the Sims graphics tab and uncheck the box DX10, then they will have textures.




Radar

Back to top
billm48732
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 31, 2011
Posts: 1
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:41 pm 

Hi im running windows vista and everytime i try and put an airplane in the airplane folder, it tells me access "you need permission to do this action"...any idea what i should do? any help would be appreciated!
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:56 pm 

billm48732 wrote:
Hi im running windows vista and everytime i try and put an airplane in the airplane folder, it tells me access "you need permission to do this action"...any idea what i should do? any help would be appreciated!


You have to be the administrator to access it.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/content/quick-ways-open-windows-vista7-command-line-administrator-elevated-privileges.htm

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Page 2 of 3
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15433

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.