Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Flight - I must be missing something...

   
Author Message
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:31 am 

DEAR moderator;
I downloaded it. I launched it. I seem to have NO control - oh, I have control of the aircraft okay but how does one select program options, etc?
When a selection screen appears I move my cursor around but see only very brief flashes of where it is on the screen.
Why do they do this?!
Is there a key sequence that will make the opening screen maybe a Little more conventional? I simply cannot find my way around this thing.
Respectfully,
Pete
Flyer of J-3's, Culver Cadets and LEARJETS!
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 18985
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:59 am 

Try shutting down some of the programs running in the background.
Be sure you have the latest video card drivers.
I would reboot before I'd shut down what's not needed in the background.
You can disable you anti-virus and enable it again when your finished flying, never shut off your firewall.
See if any of this helps.

Radar

Back to top
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:04 am 

RADARMAN!
My HERO!

Okay, I'll try those one by one. I vaguely remember having a problem like this with one of the Combat Flight Sim products, but I never got to a solution with that. I think I just gave up. That was a long time ago on a much less capable computer.

Just FYI: Gateway FX542X running Vista Ultimate (64) on an Intel Q9300 quad core at 2.5GHz; 4GB RAM (I know. I should have more), nVidia GeForce 9800GT, a one Terabyte hard drive and an Acer AL2216W (22") monitor. .

(I've been snooping solid state hard drives, but not quite yet..)

I did a disc cleanup AND defrag just before downloading Flight. You'd think......

But thank you! And thank you for hanging in here for all the struggling Flight Simmers.
Sincerely,
Pete
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 18985
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:06 am 

That's a 512mb card, with that CPU I would bump it up as well (like you said) more ram.
I hope you have at least a 750w power supply.

Good luck and nice to see you back.

Radar

Back to top
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:08 am 

Radarman, thank you for your help! You are THE MAN!
I finally got a cursor on the screen when I figured out how to get out of full screen mode. That made finding my way around much easier.
HOWever ... I'm using an eight button joystick which I have had for years and have used with complete success with FS9. I cannot get Flight (or FSX, btw) to accept any button assignments from the joystick. It simply ignores any input I try to make on the "Assignments" page. Have you seen this problem before?
It's also a disappointment that Flight doesn't allow anything but normal speed. There appears to be no 2X, 4X, etc. accelerators. Or am I missing something again?
Respectfully,
Pete
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 18985
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 3:05 am 

Most joysticks won't work in Vista or W7 because it's 64bit and you need new drivers.
I had a MS Sidewinder Pro2 for years and MS won't make drivers for it so I bought a Saitek yoke and pedals.

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15431

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2017 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.