Home Flight Sim Setup

jonnik2003 Guest

Hi guys!
I am new to flight sims. However I want to become a skilled sim flyer.
Please, advise about home setup for flight sim (FSX). I am particularly interested in passenger aircraft flying. What I want to achieve:
- closest to real experience in everything
- closest to real hardware controls. I looked at a few ones on the market, but they all don't look like real ones. Please, advise which to choose.
- full motion pilot chair which can simulate aircraft movement experience, turbulence, etc., including gear (stands) to set up hardware controls. Please, advise.
- best monitors. Please, advise which and how many to buy.
- touch monitor(s) for panel controls Please, advise.
- powerful pc.
I was thinking about making a cockpit or buying one, but i think it is too much because I live in an apartment.
My budget is up to 20 000$.

Answers 11 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
jonnik2003 Trainee

Sorry guys, I thought I am logged in when I created this post. But it is my post.

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

I did just a quick search and came up with these.
I'm sure there are more styles.

http://www.pilotshop.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=Hotseat+Flight+Sim+Pilot&x=8&y=8

Radar

Pro Member Trainee
jonnik2003 Trainee

thanks! however not sure if the seat/chair actually is a motion one. I think it is not the one which simulates motion experience in the aircraft.
Are there any other options? And as for monitors I prefer monitor setup without gaps between them.

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Don't know about the motion part.
As for the monitors inquire here http://www.matrox.com/en/

Radar

Pro Member Trainee
jonnik2003 Trainee

It looks like CKAS systems are nice with 3 and 6DOF. But are there any alternatives?

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

These do look like the best systems, but I couldn't find a price (probably staring me in the face).