Fly Away Simulation

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

FS Shuts Down when approaching add-on airport

   
Author Message
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:38 pm 

Hi,

I happens just randomly, usually when I approach add-on scenery airport when FS Shuts down:
(Message: Microsoft Flight Simulator 9.0 has stopped working, Windows is checking for the solution.....) Interestingly, it does not happen all the time? Sometimes, I can complete landing at this airport. Also the message mentions 9.0, I got 9.1 patch? Maybe some bgls are causing this? Can I identify those?

Any views would be appreciated.
Many thanks
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19269
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 4:36 pm 

Coming into an airport can be graphic intensive.
It might be too much for your video card, try lowering autogen, clouds and AI.
Shut off shadows.

Radar

Back to top
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:19 pm 

Thanks Radar Man,
I actually removed some surrounding trees from the subject airports and all seems OK now.
Cheers
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19269
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:01 pm 

Good move, that cuts down on autogen, less graphic intensive.

Radar

Back to top
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:55 pm 

Hi, did some further research after I again experienced shut down in vicinity of another airport. It again had to do with add-on scenery, The reason was that one of the add-on airports close by called for changing the AP file in the Scenery/EURW. Unfortunately this changed few other airports in the vicinity and probably did not agree with the SRTM BGLs I had previously installed for this region and also some non airport scenery I had installed close by. The altitudes were probably confusing and FS could not deal with it. Removing this add-on airport and changing the Scenery/EURW airport file back to the default AP951140.BGL fixed the problem.

Also on initially mentioned Linate shut downs. I have actually noticed that I had two AP files (EFCADs) activated for LIMC airport causing the shut downs (previously thought it is the trees in airport vicinity, but not so). One EFCAD came with the add-on LIMC and second God knows from where. Removing one EFCAD fixed the problem. Smooth flights to Linate now.

I summary I think that these shut downs are mainly due to conflicting BGLs and probably not due to too much autogen, clouds or AI. Mainly if you have a strong Video Card which can handle these.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19269
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:58 pm 

Now you took time and solved many problems with one fix, way to go.

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics