Installing Grand Canyon HD Photoreal Scenery

Pro Member Trainee
Jez88 Trainee

Hi all,

I'm still very new to X-Plane so apologies if this is an obvious question!

So far I've had great success adding a few extra aircraft and plugins.  I've also successfully installed both HD Mesh Scenery v4 and UHD Mesh Scenery V4.  I appreciate these are 'generated' scenery and so have downloaded the Grand Canyon HD Photoreal Scenery as my first attempt at some orthophoto.

I also appreciate the photos in the zip available here has already been processed - thank you! - so all I need to do is copy the correct files to my Custom Scenery folder.  But, and here's the rub, the instructions aren't quite in line with the contents of the zip.

The readme.txt says:

_______
The newer packages contain multiple versions of the yOrthoXP overlays file. You will just pick one of them.  You can delete the ones you decide not to use, or save them for later in case you change your mind.

yOrtho4XP_Overlays_XP11 - Default XP 11 roads, trees and buildings (will only work with XP11 only)
yOrtho4XP_Overlays_XP10 - Default XP 10 roads, trees and buildings (will work with XP10 or XP11)
yOrtho4XP_Overlays_HDv4 - HD v4 roads, trees and buildings by Alpilotx (will work with XP11 only)
yOrtho4XP_Overlays_HDv3 - HD v3 roads, trees and buildings by Alpilotx (will work with XP10 or XP11)
_______

But, the package only contains 2 such folders:

yOrtho4XP_Overlays
yOrtho4XP_Overlays_v3

I've tried looking at a specific dsf file (e.g. +35-114.dsf) in both of the included folders and comparing those to the same file in my folders for XP's default Global Scenery, HD Mesh Scenery v4 and UHD Mesh Scenery V4.  However, none of them match.

So, I guess my questions (finally!) are:

1. What are these folders?
  2. Do I need them?