Free Flight in Flight Simulator 2020

Bigbaz78 Guest

I am new to flight simulation and am considering the purchase of Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 but have been told you cannot just free fly without submitting a flight plan first. Is this correct? If it is I find this very strange and it is not a requirement in xplane-11 or FSX. My plan is to get to know the aircraft first and then possibly progress on to more complicated facilities.

Answers 3 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
Mamn3th Trainee

I also am new to MFS 2020, but in answer to your question, you have only pick a departure airport to begin a flight in MFS 2020. Hope this helps...

Pro Member Trainee
jlaurie Trainee

This is true. I'm just learning this new MSFS as well after 30+ years with all other FS programs as well as FX-11.

You only need to fill in a departure airport then, if you want to fill in the departure point at that chosen airfield enter it in the box below then fill out the rest of the settings ie time of day, weather etc and push the "Fly Now' button and wait ....... . . .then fly.

Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hi there,

Welcome to the exciting world of flight simulation! It's always great to see new enthusiasts joining the community. I'm happy to clarify any misconceptions regarding free flight in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 (MSFS 2020) for you.

In MSFS 2020, you can definitely engage in free flight without having to submit a flight plan beforehand. The simulator offers flexibility and caters to a wide range of user preferences, whether it's casual flying or a more realistic and complex experience.

To start a free flight session in MSFS 2020, follow these steps:

1. Launch the simulator and navigate to the main menu.
  2. Select the World Map option.
  3. Choose your desired aircraft and livery.