Using GPS with Autopilot

Guest Guest

Hi there Im VERY new to Flight Simulator (2004) and my biggest problem is getting lost flying between waypoints and airports. I've now got a pretty good idea of the GPS system so it shows me my flight path.

The problem is that Im still really flying manually following this GPS path. Is there any way that the Autopilot can just take me on this path without me having to make adjustments to my heading? Can it automatically follow a GPS flight plan? If so, how!!??

Answers 3 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Jared Captain

Well yes there is a way. here is what you do.
1. you file the flight plan and make sure the route shows up on your GPS.
2. Now you put in your altitude and speed, etc. in your autopilot.
3. then there is a switch on mostly any panel that can have you switch between NAV mode and GPS mode. you switch over to GPS mode
4 on the autopilot you turn on the NAV hold and it flies the flight plan.

Pro Member First Officer
Greg (FL050) First Officer

Yup.

Put your GPS/NAV switch on GPS (it is NAV by default). After its on GPS, turn on your AutoPilot and push your NAV1 button.

Pro Member First Officer
Steve (megafoot) First Officer

If you are in flight and you want to set/reset the gps to a new destination airport then all ya have to do is:

press the D button with the arrow thru it on the right side of the GPS unit (thats the waypoint button)
you will get a screen that wants you to enter a new waypoint alphanumeric code for your destination usually a 4 or 5 letter code example: KLAX is LA international. you can find these airport identifiers in map mode, from charts or from the gps itself (theres a trick to that).

Enter the waypoint identifier with your keyboard or you can use the knobs of the inner and outer dials on the GPS unit to get the code one letter/number at a time, play with it for a bit and you will soon see how to enter the code you want.