Types of Approaches

Pro Member Trainee
FireFight862 Trainee

Could someone elabortate on the types of approaches there are and how they are used with the GPS. Im pretty new to FS04.

Vectors? GPS? IRL? NBD?

Which direction do I use to approach I see a white line with dashes and sometimes a red line coming to and from the airport.

Are there any good digital enhanced panels I can download, Im still using smaller aircraft but would like a to have the addition of digital entries for headings and VOR. The default guages seem hard to get down to the degree correctly.

Answers 8 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Pro-Sim First Officer

Hi,

The different types of approaches that you are seeing in the PROC page of the GPS represent the different approaches available at each airport.

There are 2 types of approaches' Non-precision approaches and Precision Approaches.

Precision Approaches are generally ILS approaches, where you'll be aware that the Localizer and Glideslope are used to provide the pilot with a precise path (laterally and vertically) on which to shoot the approach.

Non-Precision approaches are VOR, NDB, GPS and 'Visual Approaches'

(It get's confusing here as many pilots can be cleared for a 'visual' approach but may still use an ILS, if it is available on the Runway that they've been cleared on).

Generally, airports will have their ILS (if available) on the runway that from a Landing perspective runs into the wind. Aircraft land better when flying into the wind, so if an airport only has 1 x ILS, it is likely that they've put it on the runway that most often runs in to the wind....

Of course big airports may well have ILS on numerous, or even all runways.

So you could say that from an IFR perspective, the ILS would be "first choice"....

However, it may not always be the case that an ILS is available, or in some cases the opposite runway may be in use for landing, where no ILS is available.