Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Activation Problem

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
Gordy L
Guest





Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 3:53 pm 

Hi,
I'm hoping for some direction here. I loaded the game(deluxe) on my pc and got to the activation screen. I entered the key# and hit enter. I could see 2 icons and the words" making connection" and then I got the message "a technical problem occurred while accessing the online server. We apologize for the inconvenience, please check your internet connection ....etc." below that there were 3 radio buttons 1-activate by internet, 2-activate by phone or 3- activate later. I tried the phone item and got the next message "An error occurred while attempting to activate product. The problem may be due to an incomplete install. Reinstall and try again. " Because of the length of time to reinstall I just went into flying. The program then timed out after 30 min. I tried numerous times after to repeat the above with same result. I then called microsoft. They transfered me to technical support. There was a voice recording that asked me to enter a product ID#. I went into the application to find it under "help" the last item. When I clicked on that it said" demo version10.0 build 60905.00 id# . That's right, it was blank. I could not give them and an ID#. So I had to hang up. So then I thought, I'll e-mail them. Again, after several questions they asked for the ID#. So I had to stop that method. I ended up e-mailing customer service, but so far I have had no response.
My first question is, Why is there no ID#. Does it appear there after activation? I bought the product from Best Buy and it was tightly sealed so I can't believe the package was tampered with.
My second question is has any one else seen this problem, and how did it get resolved for you?
Back to top
DBuck
Guest





Posted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:42 am 

Gordy,

I am having the same problem with my deluxe. I have called and left e-mails and Microsoft Tech support. I have even tried the 888 activation number and nothing. I can't believe there is nothing out on this yet. I have tride numerous times to activate and nothing. Anybody have any solutions?
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:28 pm 

you can find the key inside the jacket just under the instruction booklets stuck to the jacket
Back to top
DBuck
Guest





Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 5:12 pm 

Sorry guaest, it's not about the not finding the product key. You'd have to be blind not to see it (Yellow sticker with "Product Key"). The issue is with the MSFSX activation website not working or the product key not being authorized, AND Microsoft not addressing the issue effectively. Customer Service should not involve 2 hour wait times only to get disconnected or speak to someone in India that does not know a thing about the product, other then what is scripted on a piece of paper in front of them.

To respond again to Gordy, I just brought the game back and switched for a Deluxe that had not been previously opened. Even the EB Staff tried to call MS Tech and was on hold for 2 hours. My new copy installed and activated without issue. Good Luck Gordy.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:42 pm 

Yes this know return the game it will not work how many times oyu return it. this was also a problem for me...
Back to top
BoeingLover
Guest





Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:32 pm 

I have installed FSX Deluxe on my computer without a glitch. After instillation the activation screen popped up, I entered all the required information and Microsoft successfully accepted it. I played FSX for a while and then restarted my computer. This is where it gets ugly! I click on the icon, and what pops up the activation screen! I reentered the product key and it says there is an error no matter how many times I entered it. I even called Microsoft and they gave me a new code and still did not work. I have been seeing many other similar problems like this one on forums, so Microsoft is going to have to do something to fix this. In the meantime I have paid for a full price game which only allows you to play 30 minutes in trial mode!

Thank you for your help and time and let's hope Microsoft fixes this issue soon.
Boeinglover
Back to top
Guest
Guest





Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:07 pm 

I had this same issue with my copy of deluxe--after spending hours on the phone with Microsoft, they gave me a simple registry edit that fixed the problem and allowed me to activate.

I'm at work now, and I don't have the info with me, but I can post it when I get home.

Note that this isn't a "hack" for people to pirate the program; you still have to enter your valid Product Key, and you still have to activate with Microsoft.

I'll bookmark this thread, and if people are still having the problem, I'll post the solution when I get home.
Back to top
Guest
Guest





Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:26 pm 

Okay, it's me again. I looked on my work system, and I think I remember the registry key to change. I'm 99% sure, at least.

The registry key you want is under:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SYSTEM/CurrentControlSet/Control/Class

Look for the key that starts with "{4D36E967". In that key there is a variable called UpperFilters. On my system at home, before Microsoft helped me fix it, this had no value. (If you do have a value there already, you may want to hold off on doing this until I can verify this procedure when I get home. Or write down the value that was there in case this doesn't work.)

But if yours is blank, then double click this key and add the value "PartMgr" (without the quotes).

Then reboot your machine, and try to activate again. This worked for me.

As I said, I don't have my notes in front of me, but I'm pretty sure this was the right key. If you're nervous about this, then don't do it, and I'll verify when I get home later.

Good luck!
Back to top
Guest
Guest





Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:00 am 

Me again; just wanted to say I've double-checked my notes, and the above is correct. Hope this helps someone!
Back to top
BoeingLover
Guest





Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:13 pm 

I looked under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SYSTEM/CurrentControlSet/Control/Class
and found "{4D36E967" and the variable called UpperFilters, but I already have the value "PartMgr". So my problem might be different than yours. If you see or have any additional information please post it.

Thank you for the help,
BoeingLover
Back to top
sgtmike74
Guest





Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:29 am 

I have checked my registry and I too already has the value "PartMgr" so is there anything else I can do to get this thing to activate?
Back to top
Murfi
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Posts: 171
Location: Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:27 pm 

I did have the problem, just ring the number given to you, you go through to a computer and it activates the game for you.

If it didn't work for you download this:

http://forum.flyawaysimulation.com/forum/topic/22449/activation-message-from-ms/
Back to top
Protocol
Guest





Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:15 pm 

first of all! let's konw what is activat product key used for? It's about sending information about your PC hardware which not contain any personality information and the hardware also had product number as serial number! In the first time you used Flight Simulator X and you've succed activated Pro. Key it's return succed into Regedit wihich let you continue anytime to start FLX without pop up activation dialog.
to resolving this problem to active yours key make sure to uninstall the software and go to RUN type regedit and press F3 and type flight simulater X press enter and delet the (Key, Values, Data) press again F3 and do the step again and over again 'till get message ( not found ) reinstall the game and have fun!
Back to top
User12345
Guest





Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:20 pm 

Can anyone please post their serial key!!??
Back to top
anonymouse91
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 11, 2007
Posts: 274
Location: London, UK
Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:35 pm 

User12345 wrote:
Can anyone please post their serial key!!??


No one can post their serial. It is considered piracy if you share the key.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:19 am 

you must be connected to the internet while doing your activation.
Back to top
United93
Guest





Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:39 pm 

I Dont Think My Internet Connection Is Fast Enough For Me To Activate It How Do I Speed It Up? Or Can I?
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17868
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:13 pm 

United93 wrote:
I Dont Think My Internet Connection Is Fast Enough For Me To Activate It How Do I Speed It Up? Or Can I?


You can't speed it up and it's fast enough to register.

Radar
Back to top
united93
Guest





Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:47 pm 

so it says on the box i need 56.6 but i only have 54.0 is that the problem???
Back to top
ajmitch51
Guest





Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:20 pm 

This is a totally wierd problem. A couple of weeks ago when I reinstalled FSX after building a new PC, it came up with the feeble excuse that is being talked about here, but an hour later it activated online perfectly. Changing the configuration of my PC forced another reinstall, with exactly the same results as before, but this time, I have been trying solid for about three days, except for essential breaks. Almost worn out my mouse. Thankfully, it's a Logitech one and not Microsoft or that would have definitely failed.
Anyway, if I don't manage to do it online tonight, then I'll phone tomorrow.
What happens I wonder if all attempts at online and telephone activation fail. Is the user forced to reinstall FSX again, or does it prevent you from doing that?
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:49 pm 

I have been having this problem for weeks, I'd pretty mych given up but then decided to call MS in a last ditch attempt to fix it.

the issue was that my FSX was set to run in Compatability mode.

I unchecked the box, tried to activate it and bingo it worked !!

If you've got it running in Compatability mode you'll know how to turn it off... however just in case here's what to do.

go to your main fsx folder located in program files, microsoft games.

find the fsx.exe
right click it and select properties
click on the compatability tab then uncheck the box which say,
run this program in compatability for..

Hope this helps someone
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:28 am 

The next time someone requests the activation key, I'm going to give them a long, expansive, detailed list of codes and tell them that at least one of them will work because it's mine, but I forgot which one it was. I'm going to fill several replies with them. And all of them are going to be total bull$#!%, so the poor bastard who tries them wastes a good portion of their time. Go ahead and join in if you'd like. I only get torrents to try out products. Fair enough.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:29 am 

I don't know if anybody is still reading this thread but I'll post my experience with activating my fsx Gold which I got yesterday.

As was stated by the original poster... I got the "unable to connect to the server... blah blah".

I got a bit pissed and shut fsx down. When I started it up again I re-entered the product code... and it worked.

Bobby
Back to top
newname98033
Guest





Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:30 am 

Great!!!! The "find the fsx.exe
right click it and select properties
click on the compatability tab then uncheck the box which say,
run this program in compatability for.." worked brilliant! Thank you. Now if I can only load my Bretagne vfr ! been trying for a couple of weeks!, yes I followed all the "click in the box" / add/ edit/ posts but I still cant find it in the addon page/screen. I am trying an absolute clean reinstall now.

too everyone.....Thanks for all the great advise Very Happy
Back to top
Torque3783
Guest





Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 12:21 am 

I am delighted to be able to agree to others on the resolution to non-activation.

The 'right' technician at Microsoft has advised: go into the FSX folder (C:/Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X - open the folder )and right click on FSX.exe (or Application) choose properties and uncheck the Run in Compatibility Mode box. Then the activation went through with no problem. Enjoy.
Back to top
Bogusburger
Guest





Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:17 pm 

None of this has worked for me Sad I have tried all of the advice and nothing has worked, what number can I call to contact Microsoft?
thanks
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17868
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:45 pm 

Bogusburger wrote:
None of this has worked for me Sad I have tried all of the advice and nothing has worked, what number can I call to contact Microsoft?
thanks


Try here.

http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/existing-customers/activation-centers.aspx

Radar
Back to top
Guest88
Guest





Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:54 am 

I was having the same problem, until I went into the fsx.exe properties/compatibility, and even though my "run this program in compatibility for" box was unchecked, I checked and unchecked it, and then after this FSX worked.

This might help, just a suggestion...
Back to top
Global 7000
Guest





Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:09 am 

I have purchased FSX. However I cannot activate it. I have Windows 8 installed. After I enter activation key it comes back as error. Is there anything I can do to activate it without problems. It is waste of money to buy a product that I can not activate (use only for 30 minutes). Thanks.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17868
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:26 pm 

Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Page 1 of 2
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Hot Payware

Survey

Have you downloaded your free copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 53465

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2014 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.