intercepting the localiser?

slip-stream Guest

Does intercepting the localiser simply mean 'turning onto runway heading'. I realise in the 737 you should be at flaps 5, 180kias at this stage.

But at what distance from the runway? Because theoretically you could turn onto runway heading at any distance. Are there any indications displayed on the PFD?

Thankyou for any help in this matter. As you can tell I am a pretty new virtual pilot and rely on guys like yourselves to help me out.

Keith Sandford

Answers 4 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Mason Gilliam (harleyman) First Officer

I'm not really sure..I'm pretty new at this myself...Stick around though,there are many helpful experienced flyers here..

I usually fly A/P....So when they turn me into the runway they just tell me that I am to remain at my altitude until established on the localizer....This is usualy around 8-18 miles...

So I think it means hold your altitude until you are on glide slope.......Not real sure though....good luck......Mason

Pro Member First Officer
coolsan First Officer

When you are near the airport atc tells you "American 05 you are 30 miles from the airport, turn heading 010 decend and maintain 2000 until established on the localizer". This means you are doing an ILS landing and should have the correct ils frequency for your runway on NAV 1.
Usually you can pick up the localizer from about 20 or so miles out. You can find ILS freqs. on the map(just click on the airport).
Usually as soon as atc tells me as above I hit APP(approach) on the AP and then the plane will line up with the runway by itself and the decen onto the runway. At about 800ft turn AP off and just glide down smoothly.

guest Guest

turn to the heading they tell you to, (this will typically be 30-40 degrees off the runway heading).
put the ILS frequency into the NAV1 and change the course selecter to the runway heading.
you will see the purple line on the nav one at an angle to your current heading.