Using the localizer

Goose77817 Guest

I am a complete newbie really and just got back into flight sims although I was naff before. Anyway I'm using MS FS 98, yep 98 🙂

I'm on one of the lessons:

Introductory Flight: Cessna Skylane RG at Meigs field.

It's a short flight and I'm finally getting it down, one problem once I start my descent. It starts talking about the localizer and when something centers to turn right, go to idle. Problem is I don't understand the localizer at all.

I've nearly made the landing because when it tells me watch for the localizer centering before turning right I turn right anyway and spot the runway but it gets kinda messy from there.

Any help would be much appreciated as I am very new to this and finding my way around.

Answers 13 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
TimH First Officer

The localizer is part of the ILS system. It is usually lateral and located under the Artifcial Horizon (it is in most planes, not too sure weather it is on the Cessna Skylane RG)

The idea is to keep the needle centered at all times, so if you approach the runway at an angle, the needle wont be centered but as you reach the line of the runway the localizer needle will start to move into the center, it shouldnt move too fast, but this depends on what angle you approach at

So you will start a turn to face the runway, not a big turn, just a small one so when you finish you should be facing the heading of the runway with the localizer needle centered. If its not centered, thats ok you can make small adjustments from there.

The idea is if the needle is moving to the center fast, you should turn fast (more bank) and if its moving at a slow steady rate, you should turn at a slow steady rate. This will help you capture it nicely

I hope this helps!

Any more questions just ask! 🙂

Tim

Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

This is for FS2004 but you'll get the idea of what the ILS is about from it: