Three Novice Questions About Flight Simulator

I am a novice to flight simulator, and flying. I have been enjoying flying around in a Moony Bravo in Flight Simulator. As of now, I keep the malfunction setting so no malfunctions occur. I have three questions about it.

1. Often, air traffic control tells me there is traffic in the area, and I am to report back that I see them. I look around, but I never see the other traffic. When I report back that the traffic is not in sight, they never repond. Am I supposed to see the other traffic? It seems that air traffic control should say something when I report back that I do not see the other traffic.

2. Sometimes localizers are very accurate, and others are so inaccurate, they are hardly usable. For example, landing in Saul Ste Marie, the localizer was so far off, I could not use it, and there was no altitude shown on the localizer (Yes, I was landing on the corect runway, and the localizer was set to the correct frequency). Sault Ste Marie is only an example, this has happened at other airports also.

3. My joystick is way too responsive. I try adjusting the settings, but it never seems to do anything. I am using a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro.
Thank you for your help.

Dean

Answers 7 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Bob (Traches) First Officer

1- I haven't played VFR in awhile so I'm not sure what the rules are, but I don't think it's something you need to worry about. The built in ATC is not all that good anyway.

2-Have you set your VOR OBS to the runway heading? Also some runways will have a localizer, but no glideslope.

3-You should be able to adjust your sensitivities under settings->controls-> calibration. There's a slider for each axis on your joystick (i.e. pitch, roll, and yaw.) It might be called assignments, I'm not by my computer to check. Just dig around in the menus a bit.

1- I don't use this, but have also heard it's not so good.