Manchester Airport/ATC

Munkeh Guest

Going on a tour of concorde at manchester airport's viewing park in a few weeks, while we're down there we're gonna go to the end of one of the runways to film a few planes 🙂

Just wondering though, on atc, because I've never done this before, can you tune to it with a car radio? or do you need some sort of special airband radio?

Just out of intrest, might seem a stupid question to you lot 😀 Any of you been to the viewing park btw?

Thanks.

Answers 8 Answers

Jump to latest
Jamie4590 Guest

Not completely certain but I think the frequency used by ATC and pilots are too high to pick up on normal radio frequencies but a scanner will be able to do the job. When I was younger I used to enjoy tuning in to the police frequency on my LW radio but I used to think they would find out and tell me off!

If the Concorde's cockpit hasn't been looted by museums I would like to check it out myself.

Munkeh Guest

Hmmmm! -looks on ebay- just emailed a seller of one I like, a scanner thingy ma doo da, checking to see if it'll be able to get the frequenices 🙂 Ta for that 😉

Can bring it back home then, try and get tranmissions from birmingham 😀 Might hear the old accent or two 😉

Will ring the viewing park shop tomorrow aswell, doubt they'll have any in but can always check.

its me liam Guest

manchester airport is my local airport so i regulary go and check out the heavies coming in and out but i cant help feel like pakistan airlines are overtaking the airport 😂 😕 Mad Embarassed Evil or Very Mad Twisted Evil

Pro Member Chief Captain
CRJCapt Chief Captain

Munkeh wrote:

Going on a tour of Concorde at Manchester airport's viewing park in a few weeks, while we're down there we're gonna go to the end of one of the runways to film a few planes 🙂
Just wondering though, on ATC, because I've never done this before, can you tune to it with a car radio? or do you need some sort of special airband radio?