time acceleration

Pro Member First Officer
Jim (jellrod) First Officer

I am new to Microsoft Flight Sim, but have flown some other games where you can time accelerate. I don't want to spend 8 hours staring at a computer screen if I want to fly from Seattle to London......

Can this be done in FSX?

Answers 8 Answers

Jump to latest
Kohnen Guest

I know there's a key sequence, but I usually hit [ALT], then use the menu from the top of the screen.

Pro Member First Officer

Interesting. I will have to try that. I usually fly in full screen, so I never see a menu at the top of the screen. Thanks

Kohnen Guest

It's hidden until I hit [ALT]. I think the key to activate time compression is R if you want to try that route. R, then = for faster time, - for slower.

I may be wrong on that... I don't usually do it that way. 😎

Pro Member First Officer
mdaskalos First Officer

You'll still be in full screen mode, jellrod. It gives you an MSFS menu, not a windows menu.

mdaskalos

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Download the keyboard commands and print them out.
Free at avsim.

https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/1333/fsx-controls-keyboard-commands/

Radar

Hit "R" in game then use + or - keys at the top of keyboard.

Pro Member First Officer

Sorry_ Thanks for all the help - but I figured it out after the Kohnen post...yikes! Sorry, but thanks again!

Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hello and welcome to the world of Microsoft Flight Simulator X (FSX)! I'm glad to see another enthusiast joining our community. To answer your question, yes, FSX does offer a time acceleration feature which allows you to speed up the simulation rate, making long flights like Seattle to London much more manageable.

To access the time acceleration feature, simply follow these steps:

1. Press the ALT key on your keyboard to bring up the menu bar.

2. Navigate to Options > Simulation Rate.