Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Joystick throttle not working correctly in FSX

   
Author Message
Robin Hutter
Guest





Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:10 pm 

Hi there,

my joystick (Logitech Extreme 3DPro) throttle control doesn't work properly any more in FSX. Power can be set to between approx. 20 and 60%, sometimes it won't even do that. Joystick calibration works OK, RAW data look good. Everything works normal in FS2002.

Anyone got some clues???

Tia,
Robin <><
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:24 pm 

in fsx, go to settings and calibrate the stick.
Back to top
Robin Hutter
Guest





Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:22 am 

I calibrated the stick more than once. Calibration rotines show the stick is calibrated OK. The raw data displayed vary between 0 and 255. The stick works fine in FS2002. This ist *NOT* the problem! There seems to be a misfunction in the way FSX reads the raw data. I can adjust the three axes roll pitch and yaw, but I can't adjust the sensibility of the throttle control.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:01 am 

FSX is the receiver of data... it is a passive device.

i.e. the worst that can happen is GIGO
Back to top
jellrod
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2007
Posts: 260
Location: Seattle
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:15 pm 

Have you gone into your SETTINGS and checked to make sure you have the Throttle(s) set for joystck? There are four Throttles. My joystick has two seperate throttles that I have to assign in the SETTINGS area of FSX for it to know I'm using the jopystick throttles and not the keyboard throttles. SO check in your SETTINGS area and ensure you have the joystick throttles assigned accordingly.
Back to top
JarJarBinks
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: May 13, 2005
Posts: 1335
Location: deep deep south georgia
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:35 pm 

your type of joystick...

LOGITECH 3D

has a reputation for problems.

try unistalling the program for the stick that you installed with the CD that came in the package. then reinstall. or if worse comes to worst buy a new stick


i special ordered a X52 and it took 2 months but it was the best decission i ver made relating to this situation
"To Protect Life And Property"

GCFD: HQ STA. 1.
Rescue1, Squad1, Engine1, Ladder Tower1, Engine11

Airport STA. 5
ARFF Truck 5 Crash Fire Resc. 11 Engine 5
Back to top
jellrod
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2007
Posts: 260
Location: Seattle
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:11 pm 

He says it worksd in 2002 so I'm not sure its the stick (altho stranger things have happened with Logitech) I'm interested to see if the Settings for the joystick are set-up. I know when I switch between single double and four engine, I tend to forget to go in and change the throttle quadrant settings.
Back to top
Robin Hutter
Guest





Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:41 pm 

OK, Thanks for the suggestions. I looked for the settings that jellrod mentioned. OK, I'm trying to translate this, as I am using a German version, but I hope you get the idea. In the main menu screen I chose "Settings" on the left and "Controls..." in the "Additional settings" area to the right. The "Controller" itself is activated. Controller-Type says "Logitech Extreme 3D". Below, I have the three axes with their respective sensitivity sliders. These are all flat left.
The third tab is named steering axes. Here again, the Controller Type is "Logitech Extreme 3D". Flight modus is "normal". The 10th setting ("power axis" between "flaps" and "propeller" is mapped to the throttle control on my joystick. I deleted this, reassigned it. This correct.

So I guess, I am stuck. I will try to uninstall the joystick and re-install ist. I will post results here. And I will talk to my minister of finance (my wife) about getting a new joystick. ;- This might be a good pretext...
Back to top
jellrod
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2007
Posts: 260
Location: Seattle
Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:42 pm 

gruss gluck mien Fruende
Back to top
logiupdate
Guest





Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:51 pm 

there is a new update from logitech for that joystick? Idea
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:03 pm 

check logitech website for updated driver.
Back to top
Robin Hutter
Guest





Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:52 pm 

Hi folks,

just wanted to thank everyone who tried to help. I'm not quite sure, what helped in the end. Uninstalling the joystick didn't work, because I didn't install it. So I unplugged it and removed it from my hardware manager. In addition I unchecked the "use joystick" in the FSX settings. Replugging the joystick, re-enabling it in FSX, resetting to default and re-assigning my F-keys finally worked. My throttle is working again. Can't tell what was the problem, or how I solved it. But I can tell you: I won't touch a thing about that joystick as long as it's working... Wink

And, jellrod, I guess you have to practice your German a little bit before you can really use it. Laughing

So, thanks again everyone,
Robin <><
Back to top
noproblemo
Guest





Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:34 am 

i never did know of logitech ever giving any type of problems with drivers or anything like that, they always seem to work on everything!
and i didn't see any improvement in the updated driver, didn't need it, worked fine with out it. Surprised
Back to top
&/$:@)!
Guest





Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 2:29 am 

First go to "Settings" then "Controls" then click "calibrate". After you do that click "Properties". A request to calibrate your joystick will pop up. Once it does click accept and then do all of the tests.
Back to top
PitchBlack
Guest





Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:29 pm 

it is important to set the Throttle AXIS Sensitivity to max. than and only than FSX is recognizing the whole axis.

Greetings
Back to top
willie97
Guest





Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:45 pm 

I am having trouble with the throttles on my fsx steam simulator. after a couple of flights i do a flight planer then wehn i am ready to go and being towed out. As soon as i leave the aircraft turns left only left throttle works. I havea thrustmaster flight 4 joystick
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19096
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:54 pm 

Clean out the old drivers and try the new ones.

https://support.thrustmaster.com/en/product/tflighthotas4-en/

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?


Votes 15436

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.