Overclock help

Pro Member Trainee
freddo Trainee

I have recently tried to overclock my Q6600 to 3 GHz but im having a few issues. My specs are:
Q6600 2.4
XFX 8800GTX
2GB RAM (Corsair 6400)
Asus P5B Deluxe Motherboard

I had to get someone to help me the first time cos im fairly new to this. As i understand it we upped the FSB but then had issues with it freezing on auto voltage so we upped the volatge a little but still had a few issues with the computer freezing or just re-starting. At one stage it restarted with a blue screen and a error 1000008e.

Does anyone have any setting i can try or suggestions? Im not looking for anything amazing - just to get the 2.4 -> 3GHz. I have an Asus silent square cooler which i believe should be fine for up to 3GHz.

I have read some posts from cthiggin which have been very useful but i think i need some more info on the successful settings used by others?

Cheers.

Answers 25 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
SimmerGuy Trainee

I doubt you can overclock to 3.0 GHz on that processor with air cooling, at least not end up with a good stable running machine. It should be pretty easy to do with water cooling. But there are other issues. 3.0 GHz is a significant increase and you would have to spend some attention to the requirements for auxilliary memory cooling and/or the 2 motherboard chipsets as well. So the issue could be anywhere and maybe a combination of these.

Pro Member First Officer
faust1200 First Officer

freddo wrote:

I have recently tried to overclock my Q6600 to 3 GHz but im having a few issues. My specs are:
Q6600 2.4
XFX 8800GTX
2GB RAM (Corsair 6400)
Asus P5B Deluxe Motherboard