Questions about starting with FSX

Pro Member Trainee
luigi_m_ Trainee

Hi all, I'm looking to get back into simming and need some advice. Firstly, I'm going to buy a new PC for FSX, and need an idea of specs to run FSX at a very high quality (quad-core, duo-core, processor speed, RAM etc), and most importantly what video/graphics card to go for? I'm hoping to run the computer from a large LG TV. I understand that this may not give it the best graphics compared to using a monitor, but I'm hoping it will be more enjoyable. Do I just need to buy a PC-to-TV lead, or is anything else needed? Also, will this transfer the sound from the PC to the TV, or just the visuals?
In terms of terrain packs for FSX, what's best to look for for using IFR traffic in the UK and Europe.

Thanks for any advice guys

Answers 5 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Lee198 First Officer

Hi Luigi,

I'm no expert with computers, but I went for a Dell XPS 720 H2C beast. It cost a fair bit, but runs FSX fantastically well. It's a quad core with 1.5 TB hard drive has 2 Nvidia 8800 graphics cards and is liquid cooled.

The only problem is it weighs five stones and nearly broke my back getting it out of the box!!!

Best of luck,

Lee

Pro Member Trainee
jespere Trainee

Lee198 wrote:

Hi Luigi,

I'm no expert with computers, but I went for a Dell XPS 720 H2C beast. It cost a fair bit, but runs FSX fantastically well. It's a quad core with 1.5 TB hard drive has 2 Nvidia 8800 graphics cards and is liquid cooled.

The only problem is it weighs five stones and nearly broke my back getting it out of the box!!!

Best of luck,

Lee

wow! 2x8800 cards... lucky you 😛

back to topic... yes you need a good graphiccard... well it dont have to be so ultimate super good, but i would prefer that is kind of good (😛)
whats your budget? how much could you spend money on the computer?

Pro Member First Officer
Lee198 First Officer

Jaspere,

I got a good machine! Yes, lucky me!!