FSX Suddenly Won't start Up

Pro Member Trainee
Mateen Trainee

Hi,

I have been running FSX under Vista for many months and suddenly it won't start up. Program kicks off and then I get an error saying there is an unhandled exception in FSX.EXE. I get offered option to debug and then it exits to the desktop.

I have tried deleting the Logbook.BIN file with no success. So I deinstalled FSX and all my aircraft/scenery files. Deleted the left over directories, rebooted. cleaned the pre-fetch cache and rebooted again. THen I reinstalled FSX. But it goes through authorisation ok, builds the scenery indexes and then crashes with the same error message. Anyone have any idea what I can do to fix this. Thanks. Mateen 😞

Answers 12 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Westernstyle First Officer

Try running in the main FSX directory, Local Disk C- Program Files mircrosoft games, FSX, then click FSX.exe. Mine wont work from desktop.

Pro Member First Officer
Duncan (Razgr1z912) First Officer

Tried running as Administrator?

Pro Member Trainee
Rolaids Trainee

Are you using SP2. When I installed that my computer wouldn't run it and I had to take it off before I could use FSX.

Pro Member Trainee
Mateen Trainee

Tried running it from the file and got the same result, I am running it with admin privelages. I was initially getting the problem with FSX + SP2 but after deleting it I have reinstalled only core FSX and the exact same problem occurs. It's really frustrating as there is no real information about what is causing it to fail. My next plan is to try reinstalling Directx to see if that helps.

Evil or Very Mad Mateen

Pro Member Trainee
Rolaids Trainee

Did you just delete the whole FSX file. Because if you ran just the FSX uninstall there may still be SP2. Also did the Problem Evil or Very Mad appear right after you installed SP2.

Pro Member Trainee
Mateen Trainee