Problem trimming a Cessna

Pro Member Trainee
Simmy Trainee

I am fairly new to Flight Simulation. When I trim the Piper Cub it is quick,easy and stays trimmed. However, when I trim the Cessna Skyhawk 172 SP it is difficult and tends to drift off even if I continue flying straight and level.
Is this true of the real aircraft, is it a problem in FSX or is it me?

Simmy

Answers 4 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
teecee Trainee

All FSX aircraft are different, some trim easily, some don't, and this to some degree is true in real life, but not to the extent that you see it in FSX.. Find an aircraft that you are comfortable with and fly that whenever possible.. I find the Carenado C206 as good as any for GA flying.. and tend to stick with that or their 182RG.. Many simmers adjust the aircraft .cfg file to get better responses from their aircraft, and you will occasionally see these posted on the forums, or at the big simming websites such as Avsim, and Flightsim.com. Teecee.

Pro Member Trainee
Simmy Trainee

Thanks teecee.

Simmy

Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

There is a useful technique to trimming...

Power
Attitude
Trim

For example, you have just taken off from an airfield and you are climbing away. You will have your power set. You then need to set your attitude to get a good climb speed (75KIAS is good in a Cessna). You then need to hold that attitude to get a feel for what the aircraft wants to do. If it wants to pitch down, add some nose up trim and vice versa. It is that holding of the controls to work out what trim you need and how much trim you need that will save you the pain of a bumpy journey.

When coming out of the climb and levelling off:

Attitude
Power
Trim