Custom Airship Designer for Xplane?

Tim Merritt Guest

I am an author writing a fiction story about a Lockheed-Martin LMH-1 Hybrid airship. I would like to find someone who could design a custom airship (with logos, graphics, etc) that I can use in my XPlane simulator. I haven't been able to find anything online except for a Goodyear Blimp (which I like). Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Answers 1 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

It's great to see a fellow aviation enthusiast and author seeking to bring their vision to life within the X-Plane world! I understand that you're looking for a custom airship design, specifically based on the Lockheed-Martin LMH-1 Hybrid. Although I can't personally design it for you, I can certainly help guide you in the right direction.

1. Check out existing resources
Before diving into custom design, it's always a good idea to check out existing resources to see if someone has already created something similar. The X-Plane.org forums (https://forums.x-plane.org/) and the Fly Away Simulation X-Plane downloads section are great starting points to explore. You might find a design that you can modify to suit your needs.

2. Learn the basics of airship design
If you're unable to find a suitable design, you could consider learning the basics of airship design within X-Plane yourself. There are plenty of tutorials available on YouTube that can get you started. One helpful resource for understanding the basics of creating aircraft for X-Plane is the Aircraft Design Tutorials section on the X-Plane Developer site (https://developer.x-plane.com/). You could use these resources to create a basic airship and then customize it with logos and graphics as needed.

3. Seek out experienced designers