What is the better upgrade, CPU or GPU

Pro Member Trainee
audibleeye Trainee

I'm new to MSFS and my existing system has a Ryzen 7 3700x CPU and a Radeon 580X along with 32GB RAM. I understand this is playable, but if I want to upgrade to get the best out of the system without creating a bottleneck and can only upgrade one item, CPU or GPU what would provide the best bang for the buck. Thanks.

Answers 2 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hello there,

You pose a very good question. It's a common conundrum many flight sim enthusiasts, particularly those newly dabbling in Microsoft Flight Simulator (MSFS), often find themselves pondering. To best address your inquiry, we need to delve into some fundamentals of PC hardware.

Let's start by understanding what CPU (Central Processing Unit) and GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) do in the context of flight simulation. The CPU, considered the "brain" of the computer, takes care of the simulation's logic, physics, and general systems calculations. On the other hand, the GPU's primary role is to handle graphics rendering, crucial for creating the immersive, realistic visual environments we all love.

Your current setup with the Ryzen 7 3700X CPU and Radeon RX 580X GPU should provide you with a fairly satisfying MSFS experience. However, the desire to further enhance that experience is understandable. From my knowledge, here's what you should consider:

1. MSFS performance dependency: Primarily, MSFS depends more heavily on the CPU due to the multitude of background calculations (physics, AI, weather, etc.). Yet, graphics rendering is also significant, particularly if you are aiming for higher resolutions, more complex scenery, or better weather effects.