X-Plane non user friendly

Sierra Golf Guest

After many years of using FSX and its predecessors, I decided to purchase X-Plane 11.....What a mistake. After at least 12 months I'm still battling to even start it simply. The first problem was getting it to use the flight stick...no basic controls had been set. I bought a new "Extreme 3D Pro" thinking that at least should be recognized by X-Plane 11, OH No!.. Zilch.  I tried the laborious job of trying to input the command controls and link them to the flight stick buttons....was it a success...an emphatic NO.
I didn't even get to try inputting scenery.

Now I'm a retired Mainframe Computer Installation systems engineer and have developed a "feel" for good and bad user software, I'm afraid this is not user-friendly, you've left far too much setting up for a novice to do, I lost interest very early on. I'm also a licensed PPL pilot and no slouch with technology BUT, I'm afraid I will be going back to faithful old FSX. At least I can get off the ground and practice a few sorties with easily installed VFR photo scenery. Which I still have, thank GOD.
In my opinion, X-Plane 11 is a complete nightmare.

X-Plane software engineers, if you're listening, do try and get current flight sticks compatible and with a few basic controls added to them, particularly control surfaces and brakes in order to start the plane rolling and to avoid turning to port and running off the runway, (that's what I got from the word GO).  Then ab-initials can at least use basic functions to get in the air and do some practice circuits  FSX can do it...why can't you. 

Answers 1 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.