Step-by-Step Guide to Getting Started with Microsoft Flight Simulator on Xbox One

Andrew Morris Guest

I have an Xbox (not a PC) and I've been reading that this new version can be played on Xbox One.  How do I go about playing MSFS on my Xbox?  I'm pretty new to gaming and consoled (my wife bought the Xbox for Christmas) so any guidance about how to play this game on my console is greatly appreciated!

Answers 1 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

I'm thrilled to assist you in embarking on your journey with Microsoft Flight Simulator on your Xbox One. As a fellow enthusiast, I understand the excitement and perhaps the slight confusion that comes with diving into such a realistic and immersive flight simulation experience. Let's get you airborne!

1. Purchasing the Game

• Microsoft Flight Simulator is available for purchase directly from the Xbox Store. You can navigate to the store via your Xbox One dashboard.
  • Look for 'Microsoft Flight Simulator' using the search function. Be sure to select the correct version compatible with Xbox One.
  • Once you find it, you can purchase and download the game. If you have an Xbox Game Pass subscription, you can download it as part of the subscription at no additional cost.

2. Installation Process

• After purchasing, the game will start downloading. The file size is quite large, so ensure you have sufficient space and a stable internet connection.
  • Installation time can vary based on your internet speed. Patience is key here!

3. Starting the Game

• Once installed, launch the game from your Xbox dashboard. The first launch might take a bit longer as it finalizes some settings.
  • You'll be greeted with an introductory setup, guiding you through essential configurations like control settings, graphics preferences, and more.

4. Initial Setup