Fly Away Simulation

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

USAF A380

   
Author Message
Chris102
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 1228
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 6:06 pm 

I found this Air Force One A380 design on Airliners.net
Has anyone seen an FS texture for it? I checked avsim, but they don't have it.





-Chris
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 6:35 pm 

I think you will ever see this aircraft painted in this scheme Rolling Eyes
Back to top
Agus0404
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 29, 2004
Posts: 2421
Location: Evora, Portugal. Hometown: Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 7:31 pm 

Yeah, I agree with TTT.
Back to top
Barge
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 28, 2003
Posts: 142
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:10 pm 

Chris102 wrote:
Has anyone seen an FS texture for it?


You're the repainter, Chris! Laughing
Back to top
mypilot
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 26, 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Long Beach, California KLGB/KTOA
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:09 am 

Will the president ever use the A380? Question I doubt it. Confused
Back to top
Chris102
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 1228
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:19 am 

It's not likely - the A380 is French Laughing

Also, it's too big - not all airports can or will accomodate the A380, which means the president can only go to certain areas on the VC-380.

If they do upgrade in the near future, I would expect to see a 777.
Back to top
mypilot
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 26, 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Long Beach, California KLGB/KTOA
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:25 am 

It is a 747 they use right now, right? A 777 would be cheaper to operate.
Back to top
Chris102
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 1228
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:27 am 

They do use a 747-200 right now - two identical 747's actually. I just recalled that the Air Force requires 4 engines on an executive a/c. The 747ADV would be the best bet for a replacement.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:48 am 

If they require 4 engines, why do they have the 757?
Back to top
mypilot
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 26, 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Long Beach, California KLGB/KTOA
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:52 am 

Chris102 wrote:
They do use a 747-200 right now - two identical 747's actually. I just recalled that the Air Force requires 4 engines on an executive a/c. The 747ADV would be the best bet for a replacement.
The four engine rule must be for saftey precations. Guest, maybe the 757 is not an executive a/c. Wink
Back to top
Chris102
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 1228
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:58 am 

The 757 is called Air Force Two. It's used for government officials, especially the Vice President.

It's actually a C-32. It becomes Air Force Two when the VP is aboard.
Back to top
sylvan
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 08, 2004
Posts: 336
Location: Manchester UK
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:29 am 

Chris102 wrote:
It's not likely - the A380 is French


WOW WOW WOW WOW WOOOOW!

Let's get it right. Please don't leave out everyone else when you say the Airbus is French. Maybe you should have said it's assembled in France. It's built by a European Consortium and the major break down is as follows:

Aft and forward fuselage and vertical tail plane is built in Germany.
Centre wing box, centre fuselage, nose section Radome built by France.
Tail planes and centre belly fairing built by Spain.
Wings built in the UK.

There is also about 30 suppliers based in the the USA. For example Goodrich in North Carolina which is providing the main landing gear.
Back to top
JVD
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 11, 2003
Posts: 910
Location: Point Desny, Mauritius
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 11:14 am 

I've noticed how much interest you have in AF one. I'm not saying anything but would you like to fly one of those 747's for a career one day.
Back to top
Chris102
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 1228
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 5:55 pm 

sylvan wrote:
Chris102 wrote:
It's not likely - the A380 is French


WOW WOW WOW WOW WOOOOW!

Let's get it right. Please don't leave out everyone else when you say the Airbus is French. Maybe you should have said it's assembled in France. It's built by a European Consortium and the major break down is as follows:

Aft and forward fuselage and vertical tail plane is built in Germany.
Centre wing box, centre fuselage, nose section Radome built by France.
Tail planes and centre belly fairing built by Spain.
Wings built in the UK.

There is also about 30 suppliers based in the the USA. For example Goodrich in North Carolina which is providing the main landing gear.



Sorry for the misunderstanding - I'm not discriminating. I'm just saying that it is unlikely that the President of the United States would have a foreign A/C
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:21 pm 

Sorry - you can't have it as Air Force One - the European Union have put their trademark on it.
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics