Can my system run FS2004 efficiently? Please look!

Guest Guest

Hey all! I am new to the FS world, and I want to purchase 2004 version. My system specs are as follows:

AMD Duron 1.8 GHz
256MB PC2700 RAM
128MB PNY GeForce 5200X

I know there is no definite answer. If it will run, what should I have the display settings on? Is there anyone who has something close to this configuration? Thank you everyone for your time, as I really am excited to get started. 🙂

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Sam (SamIntel) Captain

I have 256 MB of RAM, 64 MB Video Card, Intel Pentium 4 1.8 GHz.

I usually play with the settings on Meadium Low(defualt settings) and get about 15 frames per second at the best with defualt aircraft. You should be able to run FS good. For FS2006 you will need about 1 or 2 GBs of RAM. 😉

Guest Guest

Thanks for chiming in! BTW, my memory is PC2100, not 2700. I just ordered 512MB more of RAM, so that will bring it up to 768MB RAM, so I will be just fine in that aspect 😀 That should also bring up the FPS and overall performance... Opinions anyone? Thank you! 😛

Pro Member Captain
John Hodges (originalgrunge) Captain

Your PC will run it just fine. The RAM isn't going to help boost your FPS any, but strangely enough it will boost what you can run at the same frames? After upgrading to 768 and then a gig, i noticed verrrrry little fps increase, but i can now run clouds at 100% coverage and 80% 3d textures with nearly no hit (before that would've killed my system).

You should be more than satisfied with what you can do on that system, and if it's still too slow for your tastes, pick up a bunch of small programs out there to help! (I.E. FSAutoStart, etc.)

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

I'm glad to see that you are bringing your ram up, your CPU will be more than sufficient.