Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

King Air 350 Approach Hold

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
beroun
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 89
Location: New York City
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:44 pm 

Hi,

I use autopilot APROACH HOLD on Lear Jet, B737, B747, B777 and it works perfect. I line up on ILS get direction and capture the glide slope, turn on the a/p approach hold and I am kept on the glide slope as I should be.
For some reason the APPROACH HOLD does not work on Beachcraft King Air 350. After engaged it does not hold aircaft on ILS glide slope, instead it allows aircrfat to descend and crash to the ground. Unless a/p is disangaged before hitting the ground. Any idea why is King Air different and APPROACH HOLD does not work?

Thanks
Back to top
Traches
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 31, 2008
Posts: 489
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:36 am 

Why not fly it yourself? If you want a fancy autopilot, you're going to have to go with something payware.
Back to top
FHeselton
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 12, 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Linden VA, USA
Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:07 pm 

When flying turboprops, I have found that you have to keep your power and torque up on final. If you let the power drop off the aircraft will not be able to hold the GS and will, if you don't catch it in time endup on the ground short of the runway. I try to keep my power up until I'm sure I'll make the runway. This applies to manually flying the landing or using the auto ILS approach with the Approach hold.
You may have to experiment a bit to find the best approach speed and power.
Good Luck and Good Flying
Back to top
beroun
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 89
Location: New York City
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:45 pm 

Thanks all very useful
Back to top
beroun
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 89
Location: New York City
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:48 pm 

Ref why not flying it your self. Difficult in1/4 mile visibility.
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Hot Payware

Survey

Have you downloaded your free copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 50693

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App
© Fly Away Simulation
Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us