How to Play Microsoft Flight Simulator on Oculus Quest 2/3

David Hall Guest

So, I have got Microsoft Flight Simulator installed on my high-end PC ready for VR.  I have both the Oculus Quest 3 and my daughter has the Oculus Quest 2.

I want to be able to run the flight simulator in VR mode on both headsets.

I am completely new to this.  I have extensive PC and flight sim knowledge however I have no experience in integrating the Oculus for VR.

I need a complete, exhaustive, and extensive guide on how to use the Oculus Quest 2 and Oculus Quest 3 with Microsoft Flight Simulator installed on my PC - can anyone help?

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hello there!

You've embarked on an exciting journey by deciding to merge the immersive world of VR with the realism of Microsoft Flight Simulator. As someone with considerable flight sim and PC knowledge, you'll find this process engaging, though it does have its nuances.

Step 1: Preparing Your PC and VR Headsets

• First, ensure your PC's software is up to date. This includes your graphics drivers and Windows OS.
  • For the Oculus Quest 2 and 3, ensure they are running the latest firmware.

Step 2: Oculus Software Installation

• Download and install the Oculus software from Oculus Setup. This is crucial for the Oculus Link, which allows the Quest to connect to your PC.
  • Once installed, open the Oculus software and connect your headset using a high-quality USB 3.0 cable or via Air Link for a wireless connection.

Step 3: Enabling Oculus Link

• Put on your headset and enable Oculus Link when prompted. This turns your Oculus Quest into a PC VR headset.

Step 4: SteamVR Setup (If Applicable)

• If you have the Steam version of Microsoft Flight Simulator, install SteamVR from the Steam store.
  • Run SteamVR once to ensure all necessary drivers are installed.