PMDG 737NG vs. LDS 767

Continental 1123 Guest

Hey guys i am new to buying aircraft but i am about to. I am just wondering what would be the better plane to buy.. the PMDG 737NG or the Level D Sim 767. I can now fly the Default 737-400 so i thought maybe the PMDG but id like to get some of your thoughts...

Thanks guys..Please Reply.

Answers 22 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
John Hodges (originalgrunge) Captain

They're really two very different beasts. Just in terms of aircraft, the 767 is HUGE compared to the 737s, and certainly feels like it! Do you feel like learning how to fly a big aircraft, learning all the techniques of landing heavy-weights, flying passengers across continenets or thousands of miles away? Or would you rather something that almost becomes an extension of your arm, easily landable, offering plenty of short trips?

As far as the models these companies offer, you won't go wrong with either one, but both have a steep learning curve. I don't think that I could make a fair assesment of LDS's learning curve, having the PMDG as a background. Be warned, they are VERY different from any default aircraft. It will take plenty of reading and several tries before you even get the enginges turned on!, let alone all of the other systems necessary to make a smooth flight.

The FMC is something new for you to learn and they are nearly identical in both aircraft. They both require data entry (i.e. payload, gross weight, position, manual entry of the route, etc.), and a pretty good feel for the interaction between these and the different stages of flight / autopilot. This usually takes the longest to learn, but you'll find dozens of great tutorials and walkthroughs to use with it.