Steering Wheel for Taxiing?

Pro Member Captain
Sean (SeanGa) Captain

First of all, I'd like to say hi to everyone. I'm new here, registered a few days ago.. I've been using flight simulator a few months only, so I am not very experienced.. Just started learning to use flight instruments. I'm only 16 years old, and would like to become a pilot some day 🙂

Now to the topic - taxiing.

Don't airplanes have their own "steering wheel" for taxiing? I think I remember visiting a museum where you could enter the cockpit of an old MD plane, and I asked what that little steering wheel was, and the guy told me it was for steering the nose wheel..

On FS I just use the rudder to taxi, is there a better way?

Tnx in advance!

Answers 14 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

Welcome to Fly AwaY SeanGa. 👍

As far as i know i dont thing that there is another way except rudder. Dont Know

😉

Pro Member Captain
Sean (SeanGa) Captain

ok, but just to get it straight.. they don't use the rudder in real life, do they?

btw, isn't it kinda weird that the nose wheel turns by moving the rudder? or would this be normal in real life?

Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

SeanGa wrote:

ok, but just to get it straight.. they don't use the rudder in real life, do they?

btw, isn't it kinda weird that the nose wheel turns by moving the rudder? or would this be normal in real life?

According to my small knowledges they are using a small whell or in newer crafts something like joystick in order to turn on the taxiways.
Yes maybe its weird but according that this is Computer simmulator they didnt (MS)thing that its very important to add something like that in the already limited space they had in order to show the gauges etc.

These are what i know Embarassed ...wait for some more experts than me in order to get more specific answers about it. 😉

Pro Member First Officer
Martin (Blake14) First Officer