Need advice on making steep turns

Pro Member Trainee
kopite Trainee

I'm new to flight simulators and need some advice on making steep turns. I'm trying to pass the Private Pilot Checkride in FS2004 but after numerous attempts I keep failing on the steep turns. I've been practicing steep turns and seem to do fairly well most of the time but when I attempt the checkride I'm am unable to stay within the parameters. Altitude is either too high or too low, airspeed too high or low, bank too steep, rollout too soon etc., etc.

Any advice?

Thanks
kopite

Answers 5 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

First piece of advice, the check pilot is ANAL about everything.

One thing to do is keep a constant eye on the instruments and not out the windshield as much, you won't really hit anything, so you're all clear there; I would say use the autorudder feature as well, that usually makes things somewhat easier.

You can always "cheat" with the autopilot 😂 I wouldn't advocate this of course

Don Wood Guest

I haven't tried with sim but the technique to making consistent steep turns within the parameters in real life is:

1. establish your 45 degree bank angle crisply and coordinate your turn (center the ball)
2. immediatley crank in a little nose-up trim
3. apply a little additional power
4. Continiuosly monitor the turn indicator to maintain 45 degrees of bank and the rate of climb indicator to maintain the correct altitude
5. Begin your roll out approximately 1/2 the number of degrees that your bank is (i.e. on a steep turn, you are banking at 45 degrees so you would begin your rollout at about 22.5 degrees before the desired course-round it off to 20 degrees).
6. As you establish your roll-out, bring your attitude indicator to level flight, reduce power slightly and crank in a little nose down trim