Putting downloaded aircraft into FS2004 - what am I doing?

Pro Member First Officer
Aldeeb First Officer

I have downloaded quite a number of aircraft without any difficulty and now none that I transfer from either my download folder or from a cd such as those with "PC Pilot" to Programs>Microsoft Games>FS9>Aircraft will work.

I have a DC4 Skymaster just installed and it contains folders "Effects", "Model", "Panel", "Sound", "Texture" "Aircraft.cfg" and "dc4v1 AIR File. The folders contain what you would expect to see.

The aircraft does not appear in the list of FS2004 aircraft and therefore cannot be flown. I have just downloaded a Nieuport XI "Bebe" and used exactly the same procedure. It appears in the list and flies a treat.

What on earth am I doing wrong?

Answers 5 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

It can be listed under the manufacturers name or you didn't take it out of the "wrapper", that's the folder that the aircraft by name is in.

Also check this out to see if it helps.

http://www.simviation.com/lair/aliasing1.htm

Radar

Pro Member First Officer
Aldeeb First Officer

Thanks for your reply which I have followed up. So far as I can see everything I do is correct and this morning I downloaded the Avsim Dash 8 Q400 Dreamwings version. It looks absolutely normal and the contents of the model, texture, sound, panel folders are what you would expect to see and also the separate files are there too. I copied into Programs>Microsoft Games> FS9>Aircraft and created a folder for them called de Havilland Dash 8 Q400.

I ran up the FS and there was no signs of the aircraft in "Create Flight".

Last night I also downloaded the Nieuport "Bebe" and it duly appeared, was copied into FS9 and when I ran up FS2004 there it was in the list of aircraft - it flew ok too.