help with ILS landing

Pro Member Trainee
Dorianee Trainee

i need help with ils landing, when i fly and ifr flight plan the atc asks me if i want to do " ILS runway 28 left" and when i am on final i dont see anything in the panels...........i have also used the gps to get the ILS for me, the direciton of the runway works fine but the glide slope does not come in, so im am always left guessing at where to put the plane on the runway, and this is really difficult especially in bad weather, i do this is VFR AND IFR, and i am a 737 pilot, sometimes 777

Answers 10 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain
Pro Member Trainee
Dorianee Trainee

this is a very useful page, but could you personally explain it to me in simple terms....lol...its 11 at nite over here and my mind is kinda "shut down" and i still wanna figure this out before i go to sleep

Pro Member Captain
Kareem El-Sadi (crosscheck9) Captain

Sure, I will try and put it in simple terms for you, however I highly suggest you refer to RM's link...

To start off, once ATC starts to vector you during the approach, switch the Nav/GPS switch to "Nav"

Now, wait till ATC tells you, "(flight number), expect vectors ILS r/w 28R"...At this point, what you do is pause the sim, then go to the Map -- When your at the map, double click on the arrival airport, and then pull up the ILS frequency for 28R...

Now, go the radio panel, and tune that frequency into NAV1, then don't do anything more.

When your within range (about 10-15 miles), the localizer should come alive, followed by the glideslope...Just follow it down towards the r/w...Sorry if I missed anything, but I'm very sleepy right now, and cannot focus to save my life!..>Good luck 😉

Pro Member Trainee
Dorianee Trainee

can the auto pilot fly the actual ils for me?...i notice that i can do that when i try the ils using the gps, its just the glide slope doesn ot come in. but can i use auto pilot?

Pro Member Captain