Piper Cub ground-looping

Pro Member Trainee
DF112 Trainee

I'm still fairly new to FS2004 and flight simulation generally, so I hope this isn't a really gormless question!

I do most of my flying in the JustFlight Tiger Moth, and even with the settings at the realistic end of the scale I seem to be getting on well with it (possibly because I've done some real-life flying in the T Moth). But I also want to fly the Piper Cub. Trouble is, no matter how carefully I open the throttle, and how hard I try to keep the rudder dead central, as soon as we begin to move, and well before we've had a chance to leave the ground, the 'Stall' warning flashes up, one or other wing (usually the port wing) digs in and hey presto, I've crashed. Again. If I do get into the air it's usually after a wild chase across the turf and a series of near-misses with trees, hangars, and what have you.

Is there some special technique for getting the Cub into the air safely, or am I just being ham-fisted? Any advice gratefully received!

Answers 5 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

I'm not telling you to take lessons, I didn't.
Take the introductory flight where he "walks" you through flying using the default aircraft.

I fly GA also, love vintage and I think it'll help.

Let us know how you do.

Radar

Pro Member Trainee
DF112 Trainee

Thanks Radarman, I'll give that a try. I really MUST get the hang of the Cub - a lovely little old plane, and one I'd love to fly for real. I'll let you know how I do.

x pilot Guest

if you ground looping before you getting airborne, try tapping the brake when you moving the rudder while the tail is on the ground, diffirentral breaks will help while the tail wheel is on the ground!

see if it helps!

Pro Member Chief Captain
CRJCapt Chief Captain