Altitude for short commuter flights

Pro Member First Officer
michlin First Officer

I base many of my flights out of Boston's Logan airport. One flight I like to do is a commuter flight from KBOS to JFK which is about 185 nm. What would be an appropriate altitude for a commercial airliner for this 40 minute flight?

TIA,
michlin

Answers 14 Answers

Jump to latest
TehCookie Guest

40 minute flight..? I am no pro, but I would guess around 15,000-20,000?

Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

What are you flying first of all?

OK, 15-20,000 feet is waaaay to low. It'd be ok for a 20 minute flight, but you get way better gas mileage at higher altitudes.

Firstly, let's look at your aircraft options.

Since I don't know of a lot of piston props that do commuter work in modern times, lets go to turboprops. A B1900D for example, (Beechcraft commuter plane), on a flight like that, would be ok at around 18,000. BUT, if you are doing a CRJ flight, or any other jet, shoot for 25-28,000 feet. When you climb out of a airport, don't climb at 1,000FPM, shoot out of there at around 22-2500FPM. Yes, real planes do that because you won't save a LOT in gas by climbing slower with a lower power setting. You takeoff with around 88-90% N1 under nearly all circumstances, so you can afford to climb at 2300FPM. Now, after 10,000 feet however, reduce rate of climb to around 1600FPM up to 18,000. Then around 1000-1200FPM the rest of the way.

Pro Member Trainee
rogersam6 Trainee

I fly at around FL 180-Fl 220 for my flights between Bos and PWM 🙂

Pro Member First Officer
michlin First Officer

A jet ariliners such as a 737. A few years ago I was on a 20 minute jet flight, Oahu > Maui. We got up to 12500 - 13000. So I wondered if a 40 minute flight may go to 20K. I wanted to get some of your opinions for a comparison. Thank you.

FEM,

Thank you for your additional imput.

Pro Member Chief Captain

you're welcome

Good luck!

Pro Member First Officer