Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Removing Default AI Traffic

   
Author Message
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:46 am 

I did this many moons ago! How do you remove the Default AI Traffic?

Thanks

Bill

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
belgeode
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 22, 2007
Posts: 2032
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:32 am 

there is a certain traffic.bgl file you have to find and rename to traffic.lgb

I forget the name of the file.... it is usually like traffic76549.bgl or some such combination of numbers.
US AIR TALES- Stories of one man's virtual life as a pilot
Back to top
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:58 am 

Thanks "b"!

I'm off and huntin'

Bill

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
Welshflyer
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 22, 2006
Posts: 2163
Location: South Wales
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:28 am 

The one you want is traffic030528.bgl and it can be found in the fs9/scenery/world/scenery folder. Very Happy
Back to top
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:28 am 

Thanks guys!

Perfect...went straight to it.

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:32 am 

What are you using instead of the default AI now?
Back to top
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am 

World of AI for KPHL (my home port) and KJFK.

I also use the Military AI for KADW with AF11.

This being a learning simulator, I found that when you chose an airline, you also get the airports they fly to. I know this may seem elamentry to some, but I feel like a kid in a candy store now!

And yes...the FPS take a hit, but I'm running AI at max and lose only 6-10 FPS.

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:04 am 

I downloaded every airline serviced at KPHL, and I have great AI anywhere I fly now.

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:18 am 

I think that's a very good choice. Of course you're gonna take a frame hit, why do you think MS put such inferior AI as the default in their sims Smile

Having said that, there is still a general consensus that WOAI and MILAI are gentle on the frames considering the good quality.
The beauty about it - as you've figured out - is that you do not HAVE to make flight plans unless you're a stickler for time tables.

Keep us posted Cheers!
Back to top
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:26 am 

I got a little silly and went to the American Airlines WEB sight, and researched a flight from KPHL to KLAX. I got the real world flight numbers and times for a given day. I adjusted my Aircraft.cfg to reflect this info for my b767 and loaded the flight. I was surprised that the exact flight was shown in the WOAI. Whn I flew the flight, I was only 17 minutes off the arrival! Not bad.

And yes, MS did a lousy job. I wish I could get the knowledge to design my own Flight Simulator!

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:04 am 

waj2306 wrote:
I wish I could get the knowledge to design my own Flight Simulator!


I was wondering about the motivation for such a gargantuan task. You probably like the challenge and the way you're going you might just get there. I'll be the first in line to score a signed copy Very Happy

I'm so fed up with Microsoft atm that I've been ogling X-Plane more and more lately. Obviously, it's a very small community compared to that of MSFS and making the switch would probably result in disappointment in several ways. Just like switching Cuban cigars for those made in Russia or Russian Vodka for Vodka made in Cuba... you know what I mean.

...but just the fact that you can run X-Plane on an Apple makes me lick my chops. I'm not bashing MS... but think about it:
In order to run FSX at full capacity, you require DX10. In order to run DX10, you require Vista. In order to run Vista, you need a new computer. Remember Apple's anti-MS ads when Vista was first released? It pretty much summed it up.

Now, does anyone really believe that MS wants us to build our own rigs??? No, no, no!!! They want us to BUY pre-fabricated rubbish...
Now, which of the brand computers on the market actually meets all the requirements for FSX PLUS the ability to make at least minor upgrades in the future? None.

Sorry about the rant... just caught myself in free fall there... but hey, you gotta criticize MS occasionally otherwise those sanctimonious b Censored s get too complacent.

Regards Very Happy
Back to top
waj2306
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 281
Location: East Vincent, Pennsylvania
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:13 am 

To read ones rant is to gleen information or answers to questions unasked or thought of!

I'm glad your on my side! LOL

3/1 SFG(A)
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15432

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2017 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.