Installing from WOA1 installer to FSX

Pro Member Trainee
downwind03 Trainee

Although I have no problem installing A1 Aircraft/Flight Plans to fs9 using the WOA1 Installer, I find the error 'Unhandled Exception has occurred' pops up when I hit 'Install' to FSX.

Both my fs9 and FSX are installed on a dedicated 'D' drive.........I use the 'C' drive for all ancillary folders relative to both game versions.

Therefore, I hold the WOA1 Installer in a dedicated folder together with downloaded Zip files from AVSIM et al. Project A1 similarly together with the necessary TT Tools and A1 Downloads. I have no problem with PA1.

Any help out there?.......please

UPDATE
Further to the above I've now manually extracted WOA1 Winzips which are now held in FSX but without air-files. What do I now do to get these flights flying? As you can see I'm a graduate from fs9 to fsx......it 'aint quite the same! Help please.

Answers 9 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Tailhook Chief Captain

I too have both FS9 and FSX, though currently my new FS9 install is still without any 3rd party AI traffic.
Having said that, I have in the past extensively used the WOAI installer and packages for FS9 and again for FSX. Never had any problems.

I think WOAI had to update the installer for FSX in the past. Make sure you are using the latest version, it WILL handle both, FSX and FS9.

I just extracted a WOAI package manually to see what's inside the .zip file -- a ReadMe and an .ENC file. Obviously moving the .ENC file manually into the Airplanes folder won't do anything, at least not create an .AIR file. I doubt that it will create anything else e.g. model- sound- texture folders and aircraft.cfg file.

In conclusion there is really no difference whether you install those packages into FS9 or FSX by way of the installer (with the exception of the target directory of course). I can only guess that you are now using Vista which may or may not require EXTRA coaxing.