Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

X-Plane demo and my joystick

   
Author Message
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 12:43 am 

I just downloaded and atempted to start the X-plane demo, but it does not see my joystick at all. Nothing shows in the Joystick calibration window. Nothing at all! Well, the window is there but nothing is in the box.
FSX and FS9 both see the joystick just fine.
Can you help me?
Pete
Back to top
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 12:54 am 

I should add that my joystick is 11 (eleven) years old, the label says it's a Medion MD9604, it is wireless into a USB port, has eight buttons, a hat switch a throttle and a twist grip for rudder control. It has always worked perfectly with all of the M$ flightsims - so well in fact that I never even considered a Sytech (or whatever they are) joystick.
But X-Plane demo does not see it at all. Confused
Suggestions???
Pete
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19015
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 2:48 am 

All I can think of is a feeble...try another USB port.
I would go onto their forums and ask very politely.
Why very politely, a while back I noticed that they aren't the friendliest group of flyer's.

Radar

Back to top
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 3:22 am 

Actually, that may be the way to go.
I'll try it tomorrow, if I have time.
Thank you for the prompt response
and it's good to see you here, Radarman, the invincible!
Pete
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19015
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 6:05 am 

pdegraff wrote:
Actually, that may be the way to go.
I'll try it tomorrow, if I have time.
Thank you for the prompt response
and it's good to see you here, Radarman, the invincible!
Pete


Good luck, let us know how you do.
Thanks Laughing

Radar

Back to top
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 3:35 pm 

RADARMAN TO THE RESCUE!
It worked, Radarman! I'm flying. I'm actually flying!
Took off, went around, and landed again.
Now I have to help Grandma attend to the grandsons....

BUT ... when I open the X-Plane demo icon on my desktop it opens a file folder. In that folder, among other things, are "X-Plane.exe" and "X-Plane-32Bit.exe". I just flew using the former but I wonder if the latter will perform any better.
I haven't yet looked at my frame rate but it seems smooth, much, I mean MUCH, unlike FSX.
My system: Q9300 quad 2.5GHz; 4GB RAM; Galaxy GTS450 w/1024MB/MO (brand new this week); 1T (One TeraByte) hard drive; all running on Vista Ultimate 64.
I fly FS9, FSX and now, hopefully, X-Plane.
The system runs FS9 at 20-some FPS and FSX at 5-6 FPS if there's any scenery complexity at all (such as Dallas-Fort Worth airport). FSX has been very disappointing because of that slow frame rate.
I was hoping the GTS450 would improve my FSX frame rate, but it did not.

But X-Plane is flying! ... very much thanks to Radarman!
Pete
Back to top
pdegraff
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 3:43 pm 

I should have mentioned that I also have and ocassionally fly FLIGHT, but I'm too tight, and too distrustful of Micro$oft, to buy any of their extensions. That's besides the fact that they changed keyboard key assignments. Grumble grumble.....
(Did anyone notice they have omitted the telescopes from the peak of Mauna Loa, both in FLIGHT and, I think, in FSX. Probably to minimize the temptation to terrorists.)
Pete
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19015
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat May 11, 2013 4:16 pm 

pdegraff wrote:
RADARMAN TO THE RESCUE!
It worked, Radarman! I'm flying. I'm actually flying!
Took off, went around, and landed again.
Now I have to help Grandma attend to the grandsons....

BUT ... when I open the X-Plane demo icon on my desktop it opens a file folder. In that folder, among other things, are "X-Plane.exe" and "X-Plane-32Bit.exe". I just flew using the former but I wonder if the latter will perform any better.
I haven't yet looked at my frame rate but it seems smooth, much, I mean MUCH, unlike FSX.
My system: Q9300 quad 2.5GHz; 4GB RAM; Galaxy GTS450 w/1024MB/MO (brand new this week); 1T (One TeraByte) hard drive; all running on Vista Ultimate 64.
I fly FS9, FSX and now, hopefully, X-Plane.
The system runs FS9 at 20-some FPS and FSX at 5-6 FPS if there's any scenery complexity at all (such as Dallas-Fort Worth airport). FSX has been very disappointing because of that slow frame rate.
I was hoping the GTS450 would improve my FSX frame rate, but it did not.

But X-Plane is flying! ... very much thanks to Radarman!
Pete



Thumbs Up! Sounds as if your really enjoying yourself now that everything works.
Let us know when you buy X-Plane and above all...enjoy!

Radar

Back to top
Flyaway
Site Admin
Site Admin

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 28, 2003
Posts: 1406
Location: UK
Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:38 pm 

You can grab the X-Plane demo over in the file library here:
https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/3276/x-plane-for-windows-mac-linux-demo/
Fly Away Simulation, Flight Sim #1
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15433

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.