Garmin 1000 tutorial

Ian - Guest Guest

I've looked everywhere to try and find a video tutorial on the FS2020 Garmin 1000 loaded into the Beechwood Baron and have been unable to do so.  I'm hoping this community can either point me in the right direction or help with a few questions.

How do you program an elevation into the Garmin?  The elevation dial has been removed from the bottom left side and now I don't see a way to enter it.  I've checked the Garmin site for the manual and the dial is on the real Garmin.
How do you add a STAR to your flight while already in flight?   Flying a 4-5 hour flight, I don't want to add it before I leave and want to add it when I'm about an hour from landing.

I'm new to the Glass cockpit thing, so if someone had a comprehensive video on this FS2020 Garmin, I'd really appreciate getting a link to it.

Thanks in advance.

Ian

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

See if this helps.

Radar

Ian - Guest Guest

If you look to the bottom left corner of the video, at the 4 min mark you see him adjusting the altitude on a dial that is not on the FS2020 version.   Thanks for the try, but this is why I'm looking for a FS2020 tutorial.

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

With the 2020 Sim just coming out a few days ago it will be a while before you see any tutorials.

Radar

Ian - Guest Guest

I'm sure you're right, just  wondered if anyone has figured this out so far.  It very well maybe just this aircraft as I've since flown another aircraft and the button/dial on the G1000 there is the on the C172.

Still trying also to figure out how to enter Stars.

I'll keep looking...thx 

Leroy Robbins Guest

There is a excellent tutorial for X-Plane 11 on the G1000. Just Google it, free download. I used it in MSFS and it seemed to work fine. Some aircraft are set up with a different version of the G1000 and you have to experiment with different buttons.

Pro Member Captain