DME Question

Pro Member Trainee
GWFlyer Trainee

I would appreciate some information on DME. I finished the VOR lesson, and the DME [in the lesson] showed distance information in the Seattle area. But it only seems to show DME data for Seattle. I've tried to fly using VOR frequencies/headings in California, Missouri, and Florida, but there are never any DME readings. Can anyone explain why I'm not seeing any DME information on my routes outside the lesson (nautical miles, altitude, minutes to the VOR)? Thank you. George

Answers 8 Answers

Jump to latest
Don Wood Guest

Not every real VOR has an associated DME. If it is listed on the chart as a VORTAC or a VOR/DME it will have. Many others will not and it may be you just got unlucky and picked VOR's without associated DME's.

Having said that, I've flown the FS9 in many parts of California and most of the larger citiy VOR's do have DME's that have worked for me in FS9. I'm not a programming expert but I don't see why, if you can read the SEA DME, you shouldn't be able to read others.

Pro Member First Officer
PH First Officer

Might be a silly question but...are you close enough to the station to get a signal? Or as Don states it may not be a DME tied VOR.

Guest Ed Guest

I think PH is on the right track-- you need to be within 100 nm or so to receive the signal.

And assuming you're flying the Cessna or something similar with a separate DME display, the switch on your DME display has to be set to the correct NAV radio-- if you put the VOR frequency into NAV2, you have to set that switch to "N2."

Ed

Pro Member Trainee
GWFlyer Trainee