Touch and Go

Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

Hiya,
What is the point in touch and go and when is it used? I've never done it before Dont Know

Answers 13 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Manuel Agustin Clausse (Agus0404) Chief Captain

For fun?? I'm not sure about the point of doing it.
I have a video that shows an A330 doing some Touch and Go's.

SoCalRick Guest

99jolegg wrote:

Hiya,
What is the point in touch and go and when is it used? I've never done it before Dont Know

Well, landing practice, for one thing. Once you've touched down, it is presumed you can bring the plane to a halt and taxi, etc, so touch and go allows you to practice multiple touch downs without having to stop.

Don Wood Guest

SoCalRick is correct. T&G's are used to save time, fuel, and aircraft expense while practicing landing techniques during initial training and to maintain currency after licensing. There is very little to be learned taxiing back to the runway after landing, once you have basic taxiing concepts mastered. Doing T&G's allows you to make more landings in any given period of time than full stop landings would.

Pro Member Chief Captain

That makes sense. I should have thought about that.
I made some Touch and Go's before. It's a bit hard because you don't have to use full flaps and you have to come in a bit faster. I saw this on the video I have.

Flying the pattern is your busiest time in aircraft control, visual and radio work. After touching down there's a lot of work to get the aircraft back to the takeoff configuration in a short amount of time and runway distance.

T&Gs help to improve the pilot's ability to deal with the volume of rapid changes in configuration and the effects on the aircraft. Also prepares the pilot for last minute go-arounds. To increase the pressure try T&Gs on shorter runways.

Pro Member First Officer
Greg (FL050) First Officer

T&G's are purely for practice and pattern improvements.