How do I file a correct flightplan on VATSIM?

Pro Member First Officer
JTH First Officer

Hello everyone, I'm new to VATSIM.

I've tried a few times now to fly my Cessna 172 to and from various airports around Britain. Several times though I've been stopped at my destination airport because apparently my flightplan is invalid.

What I've been using for the text box part of the flight plan where you input co-ordinates is putting in the waypoints that Flight Simulators Flight Planner gives me. So a flight from Jersey (EGSS) to London City (EGLC) would be:

EGJJ JSY SRH BIG EGLC

But a few minutes ago the Jersey controller called that "the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen" so obviously I am doing something wrong!

If anyone could help me make an acceptable flightplan it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance

Answers 21 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

They are quite particular about what your flightplan should look like. Basically, you need to define your SID, then the airway you will be flying on, with the last waypoint on that airway, then the new airway plus the last waypoint on that airway etc, and then your STAR.

I'll find some links for you 😉

Pro Member First Officer
JTH First Officer

Thanks. I don't suppose you could give me a quick lowdown on how to make SIDs and STARs could you? I know I could look up Wiki but it's really complicated. A quick tour on how to make SIDs and STARs from you or anyone else would be much appreciated! 😂

Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

Have a look at this site that Crash found:

https://forum.flyawaysimulation.com/forum/topic/10781/eu-route/

Or go to www.vatsim.netNew Pilots Start HereFirst Flight on the left ➡ then First IFR Flight

Have a read through that, it tells you how to do it acurately 😉

Pro Member Captain
Bindolaf Captain

One flight plan for your route would be this: