Sim Vs Real

Pro Member Captain
Doyley Captain

I have no experience flying in real the real world apart from always wanting to take flying lessons. Ive used FS2004 for a few days and to me it seems realistic.
Is this much like flying in real life and is it useful to learn on FS before taking flying lessons in the real world?

Answers 9 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

Reality is awlays reality and it cant be replaced from any kind of simulators.
Simulators give as a first touch ,a good view about flying conditions ,thats why its good if we have sim experience before get in the reality.
Most pilots spend hundred of hour in simulators(Not FS but real simulators-dont through bricks on me about this real ,i just only want to show the difference between FS and these huge machines with real cockpits etc.) 😉

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

To back up what Greeman said I thought you'd like to read this.
http://archives.cnn.com/2000/TECH/computing/01/26/missile.idg/

Radar

Pro Member Captain
WarHawk42 Captain

A friend of mine runs a flying school, he has never been on a computer flight sim, but he tells me the ones who are prior to taking lessons require less time learning the real thing. Especially in the gauges, what they are for and what they look like.

It isn't real, and can't replace real, but neither is it bad.

Pro Member Trainee
Prozac919 Trainee