Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

ILS Frequency

   
Author Message
Guest






Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:43 pm 

When I put on autopilot for approach, I read the thread that says I need to put in the ILS Frequency. How do I do that and how do I know what frequency to put in?
Back to top
CRJCapt
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Sep 12, 2005
Posts: 4274
Location: Ohio,USA
Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:29 am 

Click on the MAP icon on the instrument panel, click on the airport symbol, ILS frequencies will be listed for each runway with an ILS. Only some runways have a ILS. Enter frequency into the number 1 navigation radio.

Read through the Learning Center in Flight Simulator and complete the lessons. I suggest the Cessna 172, it will make learning easier. Smile
Back to top
NoWorries
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 22, 2005
Posts: 630
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:31 pm 

Good responce by CRJCapt. Another way to do it is to go to www.myairplane.com , click on NACO Approach Plates, then type in your airport, find an approach you like, and it will have freqs printed on it. The ILS frequencies are the ones on the "Feathers", and say something like "Localizer" or "ILS" are the ones you want, in FS, they are green. Here is an example for Phoenix SkyHarbor runway 26:

http://www.myairplane.com/databases/approach/pdfs/00322I26.PDF

The ILS freq is 111.75.

FWIW, all ILS freqs that are printed are for the Localizer(left/right), and the ILS receiver automatically matches it's associated glideslope(up/down).
Back to top
Solotwo
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 26, 2006
Posts: 1579
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:04 pm 

Well make sure you put it into both the Nav 1 radio and the Nav 2 radio otherwise you'll be as lost as I was for quite awhile back in the day.
Back to top
Sphagnum1
Guest





Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:54 pm 

Solotwo wrote:
Well make sure you put it into both the Nav 1 radio and the Nav 2 radio otherwise you'll be as lost as I was for quite awhile back in the day.


Confused I've never had to input the ILS frequency into both Nav radios... I don't believe that is accurate
Back to top
CRJCapt
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Sep 12, 2005
Posts: 4274
Location: Ohio,USA
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:26 pm 

You're correct. I think that aircraft that utilizing a auto land approach require both radios be set to the ILS frequency, a normal ILS uses NAV 1 only. Smile
Back to top
Solotwo
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 26, 2006
Posts: 1579
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:31 am 

Well at least for me I could never get ILS to work unless I had it programed into both.
Back to top
Greg1138
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Apr 01, 2006
Posts: 73
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:44 am 

I've never had this problem.....? NAV1 works fine for me......
The new Wilco "COPS" payware add-on pack had some teething problems.....
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:54 am 

why do people jump straight into a jet without learning first? Shocked
and then wonder why they cant do it?
Back to top
SteveT
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 27, 2005
Posts: 1524
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:39 am 

Jets just look so attractive to fly Smile
Back to top
pilotwannabe
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 2586
Location: A galaxy far far away
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:43 am 

SteveT wrote:
Jets just look so attractive to fly Smile


Thumbs Up!
Back to top
99jolegg
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 26, 2004
Posts: 5424
Location: UK
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:19 pm 

Anonymous wrote:
why do people jump straight into a jet without learning first? Shocked
and then wonder why they cant do it?


I did the same thing - jets are so much more interesting than small aircraft Laughing It just took me a lot longer working it out on my own than if I had started with the small aircraft and worked my way up Wink
Click below to support FSF:
Back to top
antone
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Apr 08, 2006
Posts: 301
Location: EGPF
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:02 pm 

Anonymous wrote:
why do people jump straight into a jet without learning first? Shocked
and then wonder why they cant do it?


It's just so much fun Very Happy

FTR, I know perfectly well why I can't do it: I'm incompetent. But jets are big and sexy and fun. Oh, I like doing the lessons in the Cessna too - it's much more challenging to really learn something. Every now and then, though, the temptation to take a 747 and wobble it around the sky is overwhelming.
You can't spell "manslaughter" without "laughter"
Back to top
lkw
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: May 31, 2005
Posts: 418
Location: Spokane Valley
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:38 pm 

Yet I keep going back to props and flying without using GPS. It is great that FS allow us to have fun in our own ways. Very Happy
Happy flying Smile
Back to top
antone
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Apr 08, 2006
Posts: 301
Location: EGPF
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:04 pm 

lkw wrote:
It is great that FS allow us to have fun in our own ways. Very Happy


Agreed. For myself, I am a compulsive fiddler. I'll mess about with anything. Well, just about anything - I generally find it wise to ask permission before messing about with things attached to women.

But yeah, competent or not, FS is highly enjoyable and the best bit is, even if one is a complete duffer (like me) we still get to fly 747s without endangering real people. My virtual passengers would probably complain, but they're all dead by now Smile
You can't spell "manslaughter" without "laughter"
Back to top
Jared
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 06, 2004
Posts: 851
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:52 am 

.
Confused I've never had to input the ILS frequency into both Nav radios... I don't believe that is accurate


Well this is only accurate if you are attempting an autoland
Back to top
NoWorries
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 22, 2005
Posts: 630
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:28 pm 

Jared wrote:
.
I generally find it wise to ask permission before messing about with things attached to women.


Well this is only accurate if you are attempting an autoland


Eep. Embarassed
Back to top
amermel
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 20, 2005
Posts: 495
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 7:25 pm 

set both nav radios to the ils frequency and hit autopilot then approch

the plane should fly it for you.
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?


Votes 15439

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.