Plane models in max

Pro Member Trainee
frazprg Trainee

Im a complete noob to these flight sims but Im a pretty good 3d artist. Im curious about the sims models.

I would like to know if anyone knows the fax about:
How many polies is the average (m$ made plane)
What texture channels are necessary for all supported types (spec,bump,dif)
what are the submeshes (if present) for high low col ect..
exporters for .mdl or fsx in general
and perhaps a usefull tutorial if someone knows where to look for fsx.

I can figure out alot if there is an importer so I can anylize the default files but No game is too similar to another. My experience lies in more arcade style games but I would like to do some fun things in this.

Answers 9 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
CRJCapt Chief Captain

Welcome to flyaway fransprg, 🍻 it's always great to have a new member with us. Some people ask about making aircraft for Flight Simulator not realizing the complexity that is involved. They think it's like a Playstation GAME that you chose basic menus and then you have a new vehicle. You seem to know what you're talking about. Take a look at the Software Developers Kit(SDK) information on the Flight Simulator website. I believe the the SDK kit is physically on the Flight Simulator X disks. 🙂
http://www.fsinsider.com/Community/Developers-Corner/About-the-SDK.htm

Pro Member Trainee
frazprg Trainee

ah thanks, didnt think they would give that stuff right on the disk. I dont beleave riging and such will be a problem (getting plane specific detail may require a tour to my nearby airport, i know some people). The physics side of things may be more complicated but I think it wouldnt be impossible to find out specifics about any specific plane. Ill look around and get back to you guys when something comes around.