Cross wind landings and takeoff

somewheresunny Guest

Hello to all.

I was wanting to know about cross wind landings and takeoffs. I heard about 'crabbing' and side slipping. I believe crabbing is with the rudder into the wind, and side slipping is the wing into the wind. Is this correct? What do you use in flight sims and what do real pilots do??
many thanks

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain
Pro Member Trainee
seadogs Trainee

Thats a good link.

If I could just add. I am a real world pilot, and during the take-off role, I turn the control column into the wind. Once out of ground effect (50ft above ground) I then use a crab technique, if the wind is strong enough.
For landing I use the side slip,(better view of runway and personal preference). I might be wrong but I think airliners use the crab method, for better passenger comfort.

Pro Member First Officer
Taylor (Flyboy92) First Officer

As a real pilot, I usually start off my approach using the crab method, once I'm on about a half mile final, I'll switch to the wing-low, or "slip" method. Where you use opposite rudder to bring the nose away from the wind, and then bank into it, this allows you to track the centerline head-on, instead of at an angle, and tends to make a landing easier, especially in a smaller aircraft.

seadogs would be correct in the fact that most airlines use the crab approach all the way to touchdown. It is easier on the passengers, as the slip method tends to feel rather funny, it is also just easier overall to crab than it is to effectively perform a wing low approach in such a large aircraft.

Flyboy92

somewheresunny Guest

Thanks you all.