Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

PMDG 747 and flight plan problem

   
Author Message
W3CPR
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Allentown Pennsylvania
Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:09 am 

I have recently ran across a problem in the PMDG 747-400 and a manually generated flight plan. My plan is as follows: kabe rwy 24 shagy jetta whino cavdi taxue uducy jnice kdca rwy 1. When the Navigation Display shows the legs, it shows the waypoint uducy and then the magenta line goes off the screen to the right. The PMDG MD-11 does not show this error. I have used FSCommander and FSBuild 2 to generate the flight plans. The waypoint lat/lon shows the correct position in the listing under NavData wpnavfix.txt. I have looked at everything and it appears that it is a problem in the PMDG 747-400 but since I have no source code I cannot be 100% sure. I wonder if someone would create this flight plan and can verify what I have found. Thanks
Back to top
W3CPR
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Allentown Pennsylvania
Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:56 pm 

I finally found the problem. FSCommander covers the waypoint TAXUE on their map and can also generate the flight plan for the PMDG 747. However, when I use the waypoints it has generated it fails in FSBuild. The problem was that my waypoints contained in FSBuild do NOT contain the waypoint TAXUE, therefore when I generate the plan it shows TAXUE in the FMC of the 747 but no speed or altitude information. When I inserted the TAXUE waypoint including the lat/lon, the flight plan then works just fine. My problem was I could not see the flight plan magenta track as it approached the final waypoints on the Navigation Display in the 747 so I could not tell what was happening due to the fact that the waypoints were so close together I could not tell where the error was coming from.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19174
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:52 pm 

I had no idea, glad you solved it yourself...good feeling.

Thanks for posting the fix, it'll help others.

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?


Votes 15439

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.