General about FS2020

I have the old FSX, not even sure which edition.   I really enjoy it.  All I want to do is fly occasionally. I have an old Yoke and Thrust Master Joy Stick.  I am interested in getting the new FS2020 but in researching and listening to YouTube videos It sounds complicated.  I have very little computer knowledge.  If it doesn't work call someone.  I am not going to build a room full of flight products and upgrade everything from the factory when I get it.  I just want to purchase it  Download and fly.  Like I did with FSX.  Is the New FS2020 too complicated for an old geezer with little to no computer skills?  It is like I want a cell phone that makes phone calls nothing else.  That is not going to happen.  Would FS2020 be the same situation?  Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank You In advance.

Answers 2 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
EldadG Trainee

Hello,

I have no experience or knowledge of FSX. I do have deep knowledge of software and computers. I have 50 years of flying experience. To you I may look like an expert, but I knew nothing about flight simulators until a year ago, when I bought X-Plane 11. I knew nothing about MSFS 2020 until November this year, when I started to fly MSFS 2020.
Everything I learned was from few excellent simmers on YouTube - especially from Mark at SimHanger Flight Simulation. Here is a link to one series of his video about MSFS 2020:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLSyT1Loyov5iZU38-D8xEwhTyKqES4_e9

Others that I learnde from inlude Russ Barlow, VR Flight Sim Guy and Q8. I'm sure there are many other good channels to help.

Even without any computer knowledge, you can get enough knowledge, with small steps, and really enjoy MSFS 2020 as I do now.

Eldad

Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hello!