Takeoff/ Taxiing in High Winds

Bird125 Guest

What is the best way to takeoff with high winds (25 kts+)?
I'm currently using a Learjet 45.
I have tried to control thew plane during taxi. By the time I hit my takeoff speed my jet is all over the runway.
This happens even if auto rudder is checked.

Any help/advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks. 😀

Answers 7 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

First, try to make it possible to take off with the wind. It's easier than crosswind takeoff, and less dangerous. Just be sure to use gentle control movements, and use differential brakes once in a while if just rudder doesn't work.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Matthew Shope (mypilot) Chief Captain

First, get a headwind if at all possible like fem stated. If that is not possible, (I've never tried that before but you can) Give one engine full power then reduce the other to 85% N1 so that it can help keep you on the runway. I would use 20 degrees flaps too so that you can get off the runway faster. Good luck.

Pro Member First Officer
PH First Officer

Every aircraft has a crosswind limit this includes TO as well as landing. 25kts may be the limit for the Lear ....don't know. Basically with the use of rudder and aileron you should be able to keep straight. By lowering thrust on an engine this will screw up V calculations and make flight awkward once airborne certainly if the other engine goes bang which you should always plan for. Start the roll with aileron full into wind anticipating rudder to keep straight. As you get further down the rw use less and less aileron aiming to be wings level when airborne keeping straight mainly with rudder. Please note this is basic example and differs with ac.

Bird 125 Guest

Thanks.
This is a great site with many helpful suggestions from many knowledgeable people.

😎

Bird125 Guest

So it is not always helpful to start a flight on the active runway.